Musée Calouste Gulbenkian, Lisbonne, Portugal

Le musée Calouste Gulbenkian (portugais: Museu Calouste Gulbenkian) est un musée portugais de la paroisse civile d’Avenidas Novas, dans la municipalité de Lisbonne. Fondé en conformité avec le dernier testament de Calouste Gulbenkian, le musée abrite la collection d’art de la Fondation du même nom, qui comprend de l’art ancien et moderne.

Le musée Calouste Gulbenkian a été construit pour abriter la collection d’art du riche financier arménien Calouste Sarkis Gulbenkian, né à Üsküdar (Istanbul) en 1869, mort à Lisbonne en 1955. Le musée possède une collection de six mille pièces et ses galeries exposent mille quatre cent œuvres divisées en art égyptien, art gréco-romain, art mésopotamien, art islamique oriental, art arménien, art extrême-oriental, sculpture, art du livre, peinture, arts décoratifs et l’œuvre de René Lalique. La collection de peinture comprend des œuvres de peintres tels que Van der Weyden, Ghirlandaio, Rubens, Rembrandt, Guardi, Fragonard, Gainsborough, Turner, Corot, Renoir, Manet, Degas et Monet. Parmi les nombreuses sculptures, le célèbre “Diana” en marbre de Houdon, qui appartenait à l’impératrice Catherine II de Russie, mérite d’être noté.

La collection d’œuvres de René Lalique, que Calouste Gulbenkian a acquise directement auprès de l’artiste, est considérée unique au monde non seulement pour sa qualité mais aussi pour sa quantité. Le musée fait partie d’un complexe qui comprend le siège social de la Fondation Calouste Gulbenkian, une bibliothèque d’art, des auditoriums pour des concerts et des conférences, une cafétéria et des boutiques, et a été récompensé par le Prix Valmor en 1975 en 2010. Le parc Gulbenkian, lieu de contact privilégié avec la nature, comprend en outre le Centre d’art moderne et un auditorium en plein air.

Le musée Calouste Gulbenkian fait partie du bâtiment du siège et du parc de la Fondation Calouste Gulbenkian (Fondation Calouste Gulbenkian, Lisbonne).

Collection
Le bâtiment qui abrite la Collection du Fondateur a été conçu par les architectes Ruy Jervis d’Athouguia, Pedro Cid et Alberto Pessoa (1969) pour accueillir environ six mille pièces amassées par Calouste Sarkis Gulbenkian. Il est situé au nord du jardin Gulbenkian. Les galeries de ce bâtiment abritent des expositions d’un millier de pièces réparties en groupes correspondant à l’art égyptien, l’art gréco-romain, la Mésopotamie, l’Orient islamique, l’Arménie, l’Extrême-Orient et, là où l’art occidental est concerné, la sculpture, l’art du livre, de la peinture, des arts décoratifs français du XVIIIe siècle et des œuvres de René Lalique. La collection d’œuvres de René Lalique, que Calouste Gulbenkian a achetée directement à l’artiste, est considérée comme unique au monde pour sa qualité et sa quantité.

Le design du bâtiment a été réalisé par les architectes Alberto Pessoa, Pedro Cid et Ruy de Athouguia.

L’expression «seulement le meilleur» définit avec précision les critères selon lesquels il a été guidé, et l’affection passionnée qu’il a développée pour les objets.

Ses pièces ont été acquises par des intermédiaires, directement auprès de propriétaires publics et privés, ou lors de ventes aux enchères. Calouste Gulbenkian, malgré ses goûts définitifs, s’entourait de personnalités en qui il avait confiance et qui le conseillaient. C’est Sir Kenneth Clark, alors directeur de la National Gallery de Londres, qui lui conseilla d’acheter les Boy Blowing Bubbles de Manet. André Aucoc, joaillier et orfèvre parisien, a joué un rôle central dans les négociations avec le gouvernement soviétique pour l’achat de pièces importantes du musée de l’Ermitage à Leningrad entre 1928 et 1930.

Quand le magnat du pétrole se lassait d’un objet, il le retirait de sa collection en le distribuant en cadeau, en l’échangeant ou en l’utilisant en paiement partiel pour autre chose.

Gulbenkian était également intéressé à enrichir les collections publiques, il contribua le plus généreusement, soit par une aide financière, soit en faisant don de pièces à des institutions culturelles telles que le Louvre à Paris, le Kunsthistorisches Museum de Vienne et le Museu Nacional de Arte Antiga à Lisbonne.

En 1938, alors que le noyau de sa collection était en place, Calouste Gulbenkian exprima son intérêt pour la création d’une institution à Londres, à côté de la National Gallery, qui serait en mesure d’abriter la collection dans son intégralité. Cela inclut certaines des plus grandes œuvres d’art de sa collection récemment prêtées à la National Gallery, et des antiquités égyptiennes au British Museum.

Le projet est venu à rien avec le déclenchement de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Un incident diplomatique qui eut lieu en 1942 amena le gouvernement britannique à déclarer Calouste Sarkis Gulbenkian «ennemi technique», classification qui fut révoquée l’année suivante, même si Gulbenkian n’en avait jamais oublié un.

En 1947, la Galerie nationale restaurée après les dommages causés par les bombardements allemands, le nouveau directeur Sir Philip Hendy a demandé la permission d’exposer les peintures de la collection prêtées en 1938. Gulbenkian a refusé que le précédent directeur, Sir Kenneth Clark, dans lequel le collecteur la confiance totale avait avait démissionné. Dans la même année, Sir Leigh Ashton, directeur du Musée Victoria et Albert, a approché Gulbenkian avec une suggestion pour la création d’un musée à Londres pour abriter la collection. En 1947, la même invitation a été présentée par la National Gallery of Art à Washington, DC, qui proposait d’exposer toutes les œuvres déposées à Londres. En 1948, les antiquités égyptiennes du British Museum ont été envoyés aux États-Unis. Elles ont été suivies, en 1950,

La majorité de la collection est restée dans sa maison sur l’avenue d’Iéna, à Paris, une propriété qu’il a acquis, en 1922, du collectionneur Rodolphe Kann et qui, depuis quatre ans ont subi une adaptation importante à installer ses œuvres d’art.

Lorsque Calouste Gulbenkian son testament définitif à Lisbonne le 18 Juin 1953, il a précisé que ses œuvres d’art doivent venir à Lisbonne, et avec la Fondation pour être ouverte, un musée doit également être construit pour protéger et exposer la collection. Le projet d’un musée et la fondation qui avait été prévu pour Londres et médité par Washington a été mis en service à Lisbonne.

Alors que des propositions pour la construction du siège du musée et des fondations ont été à l’étude, le 18ème siècle Palácio à Oeiras Pombal, près de Lisbonne était prêt à accueillir les œuvres d’art qui venaient principalement de Londres, Washington et Paris.

Les négociations avec le gouvernement français étaient extrêmement complexes surtout quand il est venu à l’inestimable des chefs-d’œuvre des palais royaux à Versailles et Fontainebleau, ainsi que les sculptures Houdon de la résidence Gulbenkian dans l’avenue d’Iéna, à Paris. Un effort juridique et diplomatique combinée a été faite par l’administration de la Fondation Gulbenkian, en collaboration avec le ministère portugais des Affaires étrangères, et André Malraux, alors ministre français de la Culture. Cela a permis au reste de la collection à expédier, sans restriction, à Lisbonne, où il est arrivé le 16 Juin 1960.

Pour la première fois, les objets 6.440 acquises par Calouste Gulbenkian étaient enfin réunis sous le même, bien que temporaire, toit comme il l’avait toujours souhaité. Dans les mois qui ont suivi un certain nombre d’éléments de la collection ont été présentés au public portugais à diverses expositions qui ont eu lieu au début des années soixante. Le 20 Juillet 1965, pour commémorer le dixième anniversaire de la mort du fondateur, 300 objets de la collection Gulbenkian ont été mis en exposition permanente au public. En 1969, les œuvres d’art ont quitté le Palácio pour le nouveau Pombal musée, enfin regroupés comme une entité.

Construire
Le projet de la Fondation Calouste Gulbenkian et du musée, inauguré en 1969, a été le résultat d’un concours restreint qui a eu lieu à partir, 1959-1960 entre les trois équipes d’architectes.

Le cahier des charges ambitieux et détaillées étant basés sur le présupposé que le nouveau bâtiment devait servir « un hommage perpétuel à la mémoire de Calouste Gulbenkian, et ses lignes devaient refléter les caractéristiques essentielles de son caractère – spiritualité concentré, force créatrice et la simplicité la vie”.

Le projet a dû prendre en considération les différents types d’installations pour abriter le musée, les auditoriums et de la bibliothèque ainsi que les services administratifs et techniques de la fondation. Le site choisi a été le Parque de Santa Gertrudes à Palhavã, Lisbonne (le site actuel).

Des trois solutions présentées conjointement celui de l’équipe composée des architectes Ruy Jervis d’Athouguia, Pedro Cid et Alberto Pessoa a été sélectionné comme satisfaisant aux exigences de la Commission pour produire un bâtiment sobre, digne dans un cadre architectural unifié. Un grand nombre de spécialistes dans divers domaines a travaillé sur le projet coordonné par l’équipe gagnante.

Les deux autres projets ont été par une équipe d’architectes composée de Arnaldo Araújo, Frederick George et Manuel Laginha, et l’autre par Formosinho Sanches, Losa arménienne et Padoue Ramos.

L’ensemble architectural existant, simple en ligne avec différentes zones habilement reliées entre elles, est entouré d’un espace vert conçu par les architectes paysagistes Gonçalo Ribeiro et António Viana Telles Barreto, avec des pelouses, des arbres, des piscines et même un amphithéâtre en plein air. L’extérieur du musée est comme un rectangle massif parallélépipède situé sur l’un de ses côtés les plus longs où l’utilisation du béton et de granit crée un équilibre chromatique moelleux. Prévu par rapport à chaque objet collecté par Calouste Gulbenkian, à l’étage inférieur, il a une galerie d’exposition temporaire, un petit auditorium, une boutique du musée et une cafétéria, ainsi que la bibliothèque d’art.

Une marque la définition de l’architecture du musée portugais, l’édifice du Musée est organisé autour de deux jardins avec de nombreuses baies vitrées de grande taille qui permettent au visiteur de profiter de la nature et de l’art.

Un exemple remarquable des dernières tendances de l’architecture portugaise moderne des années 1960, la Fondation Calouste Gulbenkian a reçu le prix Valmor d’architecture en 1975, et classé « monument national » en 2010.

Exposition
Les galeries d’exposition permanente sont distribués dans l’ ordre chronologique et géographique pour créer deux circuits indépendants au sein du circuit global.

Le premier circuit souligne Art Oriental et classique exposées dans l’Egypte gréco-romaine, mésopotamienne, orientale islamique, art arménien oriental et loin.

La deuxième porte sur l’art européen avec des sections dédiées à l’Art du Livre, Sculpture, peinture et les arts décoratifs du 18e siècle en particulier l’art français et l’œuvre de René Lalique.

Dans ce circuit un nombre large de pièces reflètent différentes tendances artistiques européennes dès le début du 11 e siècle au milieu du 20e siècle.

La section commence par le travail de l’ivoire et des livres manuscrits enluminés, suivi d’une sélection de sculptures 15ème, 16ème et 17ème siècle et des peintures.

art de la Renaissance produit en Flandre, la France et l’Italie est exposée dans la pièce voisine. 18ème siècle arts décoratifs français ont une place particulière dans le musée avec des objets d’or et d’argent en circulation et des meubles, ainsi que des peintures et des sculptures. Ces arts décoratifs sont suivis par des galeries présentant un groupe de peintures du vénitien Francesco Guardi, 18e et 19e siècle peintures anglaises, et enfin une superbe collection de bijoux et de verre par René Lalique, affiché dans sa propre chambre.

Calouste Gulbenkian Museum, Lisbon, Portugal

The Calouste Gulbenkian Museum (Portuguese: Museu Calouste Gulbenkian) is a Portuguese museum in the civil parish of Avenidas Novas, in the municipality of Lisbon. Founded in conformity with Calouste Gulbenkian’s last will and testament, the museum accommodates the art collection of the similarly-named Foundation, that includes ancient and, some, modern art.

The Calouste Gulbenkian Museum was built to house the Art Collection of the wealthy Armenian financier Calouste Sarkis Gulbenkian, born in Üsküdar (Istanbul) in 1869, who died in Lisbon in 1955. The Museum holds a collection of six thousand pieces and its galleries exhibit over one thousand and four hundred works divided into Egyptian Art, Greco-Roman Art, Mesopotamian Art, Eastern Islamic Art, Armenian Art, Far Eastern Art, Sculpture, Art of the Book, Painting, Decorative Arts and the work of René Lalique. The Painting collection includes works by such painters as Van der Weyden, Ghirlandaio, Rubens, Rembrandt, Guardi, Fragonard, Gainsborough, Turner, Corot, Renoir, Manet, Degas and Monet. Among the many sculptures, the famous marble original “Diana” by Houdon, which belonged to the Empress Catherine II of Russia is worthy of note.

The collection of works by René Lalique, which Calouste Gulbenkian acquired directly from the artist, is considered unique in the world not only for its quality but also its quantity. The Museum is part of a complex which comprises the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation head-office building, an Art Library, auditoria for concerts and conferences, a cafeteria and shops, and it has been awarded the Valmor Prize for Architecture in 1975, and classified National Monument in 2010. The Gulbenkian Park, a place where contact with nature is privileged, further includes the Modern Art Centre and an open-air auditorium.

The Calouste Gulbenkian Museum is part of the headquarters building and park of the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation (Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation, Lisbon).

Collection
The building that houses the Founder’s Collection was designed by the architects Ruy Jervis d’Athouguia, Pedro Cid and Alberto Pessoa (1969) to accommodate around six thousand pieces amassed by Calouste Sarkis Gulbenkian. It is located in the north of the Gulbenkian garden. The galleries of this building are home to displays of around a thousand pieces divided into groups corresponding to Egyptian art, Greco-Roman art, Mesopotamia, the Islamic Orient, Armenia, the Far East and, where Western art is concerned, sculpture, the art of the book, painting, eighteenth-century French decorative arts, and works by René Lalique. The collection of works by René Lalique, which Calouste Gulbenkian purchased directly from the artist, is considered to be unique in the world for its quality and quantity.

The design of the building is authored by Architects Alberto Pessoa, Pedro Cid and Ruy de Athouguia.

The phrase “only the best” accurately defines the criteria by which he was guided, and the passionate affection he developed for the objects.

His pieces were acquired through intermediaries, directly from public and private owners, or at auctions. Calouste Gulbenkian, despite his definite tastes, surrounded himself by personalities whom he trusted and who counselled him. It was Sir Kenneth Clark, at that time director of the National Gallery in London, who advised him to buy Manet’s Boy Blowing Bubbles. André Aucoc, Paris jeweller and goldsmith, played a pivotal role in the negotiations with the Soviet Government to buy important pieces from the Hermitage Museum in Leningrad in the two-year period from 1928 to 1930.

When the oil magnate grew tired of an object he would remove it from his collection by giving it away as a present, exchanging it or using it in part-payment for something else.

Gulbenkian was also interested in enriching public collections, he contributed most generously either by financial aid or by donating pieces to cultural institutions such as the Louvre in Paris, the Kunsthistorisches Museum in Vienna and the Museu Nacional de Arte Antiga in Lisbon.

In 1938, with the nucleus of his collection in place, Calouste Gulbenkian expressed his interest in creating an institution in London, next to the National Gallery, that would be able to house the collection in its entirety. This included some of the greatest works of art in his collection recently placed on loan to the National Gallery, and Egyptian antiquities in the British Museum.

The project came to nothing with the outbreak of the II World War. A diplomatic incident that took place in 1942, led the British government to declare Calouste Sarkis Gulbenkian a “technical enemy”, a classification that was revoked the following year, though it was one Gulbenkian never forgot.

In 1947, with the National Gallery restored after damage caused by German bombing raids, the new director Sir Philip Hendy requested permission to exhibit the paintings from the collection loaned in 1938. Gulbenkian refused as the previous director, Sir Kenneth Clark, in whom the collector had total confidence had resigned. In the same year, Sir Leigh Ashton, the director of the Victoria and Albert Museum, approached Gulbenkian with a suggestion for the creation of a museum in London to house the entire collection. In 1947, exactly the same invitation was put forward by the National Gallery of Art in Washington, DC, which proposed to exhibit all the works deposited in London. In 1948, the Egyptian antiquities from the British Museum were sent to the United States. These were followed, in 1950, by the paintings that had been on loan in the National Gallery in London.

The majority of the collection remained in his house on the Avenue d’Iéna, in Paris, a property he acquired, in 1922, from the collector Rodolphe Kann and which, for four years underwent extensive adaptation to install his works of art.

When Calouste Gulbenkian made his definitive will in Lisbon on June 18th, 1953, he specified that his works of art should come to Lisbon, and along with the Foundation to be instituted, a museum should also be built to protect and exhibit the collection. The project for a museum and foundation that had been planned for London and pondered over by Washington was put into operation in Lisbon.

While proposals for the construction of the museum and foundation headquarters were being studied, the 18th century Palácio Pombal at Oeiras, near Lisbon was prepared to house the works of art that mainly came from London, Washington and Paris.

Negotiations with the French Government were extremely complex particularly when it came to priceless masterpieces from the royal palaces at Versailles and Fontainebleau, as well as the Houdon sculptures from the Gulbenkian residence in the Avenue d’Iéna, in Paris. A combined legal and diplomatic effort was made by the administration of the Gulbenkian Foundation, in conjunction with the Portuguese Ministry of Foreign Affairs, and André Malraux, then French Minister for Culture. This enabled the rest of the collection to be shipped, with no restrictions, to Lisbon where it arrived on June 16th, 1960.

For the first time, the 6,440 objects acquired by Calouste Gulbenkian were finally together under the same, albeit temporary, roof just as he had always wished. In the succeeding months a number of items from the collection were shown to the Portuguese public at various exhibitions that took place at the beginning of the sixties. On July 20th, 1965, to commemorate the tenth anniversary of the death of the founder, 300 objects from the Gulbenkian collection were put on permanent display to the public. In 1969, the works of art left the Palácio Pombal for the new museum, at last grouped together as an entity.

Building
The project for the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation and Museum, inaugurated in 1969, was the result of a limited competition that took place from, 1959 to 1960 between three teams of architects.

The ambitious and detailed specifications being based on the presupposition that the new building was to serve as “a perpetual homage to the memory of Calouste Gulbenkian, and its lines were to reflect the essential features of his character – concentrated spirituality, creative force and simplicity of life”.

The project had to take into consideration various types of installations to house the museum, auditoriums and library and also the administrative and technical services of the foundation. The site chosen was the Parque de Santa Gertrudes in Palhavã, Lisbon (the present site).

From the three solutions jointly presented that of the team made up of the architects Ruy Jervis d’Athouguia, Pedro Cid and Alberto Pessoa was selected as fulfilling the requirements of the commission to produce a sober, dignified building in a unified architectural setting. A large number of specialists in various areas worked on the project co-ordinated by the winning team.

The remaining two projects were by an architectural team made up of Arnaldo Araújo, Frederico George and Manuel Laginha, and the other by Formosinho Sanches, Arménio Losa and Pádua Ramos.

The existing architectural ensemble, simple in line with different areas ably linked together, is surrounded by a green area designed by the landscape architects Gonçalo Ribeiro Telles and António Viana Barreto, with lawns, trees, pools and even an open-air amphitheatre. The exterior of the museum is like a massive rectangular parallelepiped set on one of its longer sides where the use of concrete and granite creates a mellow chromatic equilibrium. Planned in relation to each object collected by Calouste Gulbenkian, on the lower floor it has a Temporary Exhibition Gallery, a small auditorium, a museum shop and cafeteria as well as the Art Library.

A defining mark in Portuguese museum architecture, the edifice of the Museum is organised round two gardens with numerous tall picture windows that enable the visitor to enjoy Nature and Art.

A noteworthy example of the latest trends in modern Portuguese architecture of the 1960s, the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation was awarded the Valmor Prize for Architecture in 1975, and classified “National Monument” in 2010.

Exhibition
The permanent exhibition galleries are distributed in chronological and geographical order to create two independent circuits within the overall tour.

The first circuit highlights Oriental and Classical Art on display in the Egyptian, Greco-Roman, Mesopotamian, Eastern Islamic, Armenian and Far Eastern Art.

The second covers European Art with sections dedicated to the Art of the Book, Sculpture, Painting and the Decorative Arts particularly 18th century French art and the work of René Lalique.

In this circuit a wide-ranging number of pieces reflect various European artistic trends from the beginning of the 11th century to the mid-20th century.

The section begins with work in ivory and illuminated manuscript books, followed by a selection of 15th, 16th and 17th century sculptures and paintings.

Renaissance art produced in Flanders, France and Italy is on display in the next room. French 18th century decorative arts have a special place in the museum with outstanding gold and silver objects and furniture, as well as paintings and sculptures. These decorative arts are followed by galleries exhibiting a group of paintings by the Venetian Francesco Guardi, 18th and 19th century English paintings, and finally a superb collection of jewels and glass by René Lalique, displayed in its own room.

Tags: