格拉斯内文公墓博物馆,爱尔兰都柏林

格拉斯内文公墓(爱尔兰语:Reilig GhlasNaíon)是1832年在爱尔兰都柏林格拉斯内文(Glasnevin)的一个大型墓地。格拉斯内文公墓博物馆(Glasnevin Cemetery Museum),为150多万人提供监护人和讲故事的人。这些人从普通人到非凡人,帮助塑造了今天的爱尔兰人。我们希望通过参观墓地,参观博物馆或通过族谱搜索您的家族历史,与您分享他们的故事和时间。

Glasnevin公墓博物馆的常设展览包括“死亡之城”,“展望画廊”和“里程碑画廊”。 “死亡之城”是公墓的历史,格拉斯内文基金(Glasnevin Trust),甚至是一个如何进行重建被强盗毁坏之城的展览。 “展望画廊”玻璃展览提供定期的历史展览,可以看到墓地的全景,以及有关奇迹和历史遗迹的信息。 “里程碑画廊”是里程碑时间表的起源,这是以前从未有过的展览设计技术。这个触摸屏包含了200年的200个生命故事,同时也展示了描述现代爱尔兰故事的不同人物之间的联系。

历史:
在Glasnevin公墓成立之前,爱尔兰天主教徒没有自己的公墓来埋葬他们的死亡,而且由于十八世纪压制性的“刑法”对天主教徒的公开表演施加了严格的限制,天主教徒在新教教堂或墓地进行有限的自己的葬礼服务。这种情况一直持续到1823年在圣凯文教堂举行的一次葬礼上发生事件时,一名新教徒塞克斯顿斥责天主教神父进行有限版的葬礼。强烈的呼声促使天主教权利的倡导者丹尼尔·奥康奈尔(Daniel O’Connell)发起了一场运动,并准备了一个法律意见,证明实际上没有法律禁止在坟墓场里为死去的天主教徒祈祷。奥康奈尔推动开放的爱尔兰天主教徒和新教徒可以给他们死的尊严埋葬墓地。

格拉斯涅文公墓于1832年2月21日首次向公众开放并向公众开放。十一岁的迈克尔·凯里从都柏林的弗朗西斯街开始埋葬,第二天在已知墓地的一段作为Curran的广场。墓地最初被称为“展望公墓”(Prospect Cemetery),这个公墓名字是从展望镇的土地中选出来的,这个公墓包围着墓地。原来占地九英亩的地面,公墓现在已经发展到大约124英亩。这包括它在芬格拉斯路的南侧扩建,名为“圣保罗教堂”。自一九八二年三月起提供火化的选择。

格拉斯内文墓地仍然在都柏林坟场委员会的照顾下。墓地的发展是目前正在进行的重大扩建和翻新工程的一项持续性任务。

天主教弥撒每周日上午9时45分由教区神职人员庆祝。每年夏天,每年的坟墓祝福都是自1832年建立公墓以来所发生的。

纪念碑和坟墓:
墓地历史上着名的古迹和许多爱尔兰最着名的国家人物的坟墓。这些包括Daniel O’Connell,Charles Stewart Parnell,Michael Collins,Éamonde Valera,Arthur Griffith,Maude Gonne,Kevin Barry,Roger Casement,Constance Markievicz,PádraigÓDomhnaill,SeánMacBride,Jeremiah O’Donovan Rossa,Frank Dubliners的Duff,Brendan Behan,Christy Brown和Luke Kelly。

1922年在爱尔兰内战中丧生的民族主义领袖迈克尔·柯林斯(Michael Collins)的坟墓是格拉斯内温(Glasnevin)访问量最大的遗址之一。他身边至少有183名爱尔兰自由州士兵被埋葬。 1967年,他们的名字被记录在科林墓穴的纪念碑上。

1993年,在抹大拉洗衣场的一个万人坑,表面上用来容纳“堕落的妇女”的机构,在洗衣店的女修道院被卖后卖给了一个房地产开发商。修道院的姐妹们安排将遗体火化并重新埋在格拉斯内文公墓的一个集体坟墓中,与购买土地的开发商分摊重新埋葬的费用。

墓地还提供了过去200年来爱尔兰死亡古迹变化的风景:从十九世纪六十年代的严峻,简单,高度的石头勃起到十九世纪六十年代民族复兴的精巧凯尔特十字架到20世纪60年代,到20世纪末的意大利大理石。

20世纪的墓碑。
围绕公墓主要部分的高墙围墙是为了防止十八世纪和十九世纪初在都柏林活跃的人造卫星。守夜人也有一群在夜间漫游墓地的猎狗。

2009年,格拉斯尼文信托与英联邦战争坟墓委员会(CWGC)合作,开始确定在两次世界大战期间在英联邦军队中服役期间死亡的爱尔兰军人的坟墓。这些名字被刻在两个纪念碑上,在2011年被重新安置并搬到了正门附近。纪念第一次世界大战一百周年,在爱尔兰和英国联合举行的纪念仪式上,在墓地竖立了一个牺牲十字架。截至2017年3月,共有214名被认定为埋葬在这里的战争英联邦服务人员。

天使情节:
格拉斯内文(Glasnevin)是为数不多的墓地中的一个,它允许死胎婴儿埋在圣地,并且有一个叫做“天使剧情”(Angels Plot)的地区。

火葬场:
1982年,Glasnevin信托在公墓场地内建造了一个火葬场。此后,这项服务已被用于希望火化的各种宗教派别的人士。 Boyzone歌手Stephen Gately于2009年10月在Glasnevin火葬场火化。

国家植物园

花园的活动和作用远不止于眼前。我们的目的是探索,理解,保存和分享植物的重要性。我们的目标是使国家植物园成为一个休闲,娱乐和教育都适合游客享受的地方。

保护:在国家植物园的活体藏品中,我们拥有来自世界各地的300多种濒危物种,6种已经在野外灭绝。这是一个重要的资源,就像诺亚方舟的未来。

教育是国家植物园的根本作用:通过我们的收藏和活动,我们的目标是提高公众对植物及其对全球人们的重要性的意识。

科学:花园的工作人员正在积极地描述新的物种;增加我们对爱尔兰植物的了解;进行收集考察;并调查我们最受威胁的本地物种的需求。国家植物标本馆位于国家植物园内,拥有近3/4千个干植物标本。我们也有一个活跃的DNA研究实验室。

参考:通过持有大量的命名和标签收藏品,并保留最新的收藏品目录,该收藏品为爱尔兰园丁,园艺家和植物学家提供了一个独特的参考资源。

示范:从世界不同的气候地区种植各种植物,并在良好的园艺实践中展示这些植物,使我们的参观者能够看到他们在自己的花园中也能获得什么。我们举办园艺培训课程,并全年举办实践研讨会 – 详情请参阅我们的活动页面。

休闲:花园的整体设计和内容创造了一个刺激的环境,无论是来访者在这里指导还是娱乐。但是应该记住,花园的主要作用是作为一个科学收藏,因此我们不允许狗,野餐,自行车,钓鱼,球类运动,慢跑或跑步,也不允许玩乐器或录制音乐。入场是免费的,除了圣诞节,我们每年的每一天都是开放的。开放时间因季节而异。

教育:
格拉斯内文公墓的学校参观包括导游陪同参观墓园,参观博物馆,还有令人兴奋的教育包。我们的目标是抓住想象力,把您的课程带走!

我们着名的历史之旅让学生有机会探索自1800年以来爱尔兰生活的多样性,通过埋葬在这里的着名的普通人的故事。

Tags:

Glasnevin Cemetery Museum, Dublin, Ireland

Glasnevin Cemetery (Irish: Reilig Ghlas Naíon) is a large cemetery in Glasnevin, Dublin, Ireland which opened in 1832. Glasnevin Cemetery Museum, both the guardian and storyteller for over 1.5 million people. From the ordinary to the truly extraordinary, these people helped shape the Ireland of today. We want to share their stories and times with you through tours of the cemetery, a visit to the museum or through a genealogy search for your family history.

Permanent exhibitions at Glasnevin Cemetery Museum include ‘City of the Dead’, ‘Prospect Gallery’ and ‘Milestone Gallery’. ‘City of the Dead’ is a history of the cemetery, Glasnevin Trust and even a reconstructed exhibition of how a grave robber conducted his grim business. The glazed ‘Prospect Gallery’ offers periodic historical exhibitions over a panoramic view of the cemetery along with information on it’s marvellous array of funeral monuments and historic graves. The ‘Milestone Gallery’ is home to the Milestone Timeline, a never before attempted piece of exhibition design technology. This touch screen table contains 200 life stories spanning almost 200 years and also illustrates the links between the different people who tell the story of modern Ireland.

History:
Prior to the establishment of Glasnevin Cemetery, Irish Catholics had no cemeteries of their own in which to bury their dead and, as the repressive Penal Laws of the eighteenth century placed heavy restrictions on the public performance of Catholic services, it had become normal practice for Catholics to conduct a limited version of their own funeral services in Protestant churchyards or graveyards. This situation continued until an incident at a funeral held at St. Kevin’s Churchyard in 1823 provoked public outcry when a Protestant sexton reprimanded a Catholic priest for proceeding to perform a limited version of a funeral mass. The outcry prompted Daniel O’Connell, champion of Catholic rights, to launch a campaign and prepare a legal opinion proving that there was actually no law passed forbidding praying for a dead Catholic in a graveyard. O’Connell pushed for the opening of a burial ground in which both Irish Catholics and Protestants could give their dead dignified burial.

Glasnevin Cemetery was consecrated and opened to the public for the first time on 21 February 1832. The first burial, that of eleven-year-old Michael Carey from Francis Street in Dublin, took place on the following day in a section of the cemetery known as Curran’s Square. The cemetery was initially known as Prospect Cemetery, a name chosen from the townland of Prospect, which surrounded the cemetery lands. Originally covering nine acres of ground, the area of the cemetery has now grown to approximately 124 acres. This includes its expansion on the southern side of the Finglas Road with the section called St. Paul’s. The option of cremation has been provided since March 1982.

Glasnevin Cemetery remains under the care of the Dublin Cemeteries Committee. The development of the cemetery is an ongoing task with major expansion and refurbishment work being carried out at the present time.

The Catholic Mass is celebrated by members of the parish clergy every Sunday at 9.45 am. The annual blessing of the graves takes place each summer as it has done since the foundation of the cemetery in 1832.

Memorials and graves:
The cemetery contains historically notable monuments and the graves of many of Ireland’s most prominent national figures. These include the graves of Daniel O’Connell, Charles Stewart Parnell, Michael Collins, Éamon de Valera, Arthur Griffith, Maude Gonne, Kevin Barry, Roger Casement, Constance Markievicz, Pádraig Ó Domhnaill, Seán MacBride, Jeremiah O’Donovan Rossa, Frank Duff, Brendan Behan, Christy Brown and Luke Kelly of the Dubliners.

The grave of Michael Collins, the nationalist leader who was killed in the Irish Civil War in 1922, is among the most visited sites in Glasnevin. Around him were buried at least 183 soldiers of the Irish Free State. In 1967 their names were recorded on memorial around Collin’s grave.

In 1993 a mass grave at the site of a Magdalene laundry, institutions ostensibly used to house “fallen women”, was discovered after the convent which ran the laundry sold the land to a property developer. The Sisters from the Convent arranged to have the remains cremated and reburied in a mass grave at Glasnevin Cemetery, splitting the cost of the reburial with the developer who had bought the land.

The cemetery also offers a view of the changing style of death monuments in Ireland over the last 200 years: from the austere, simple, high stone erections of the period up until the 1860s, to the elaborate Celtic crosses of the nationalistic revival from the 1860s to the 1960s, to the plain Italian marble of the late 20th century.

20th century gravestones.
The high wall with watch-towers surrounding the main part of the cemetery was built to deter bodysnatchers, who were active in Dublin in the 18th and early 19th centuries. The watchmen also had a pack of blood-hounds who roamed the cemetery at night.

In 2009, Glasnevin Trust in co-operation with the Commonwealth War Graves Commission (CWGC) began identifying the graves of Irish service personnel who died while serving in the Commonwealth forces during the two world wars. These names are inscribed on two memorials, rededicated and relocated in 2011 to near the main entrance. A Cross of Sacrifice was erected in the cemetery, in a joint Irish-British commemoration ceremony, to mark the First World War centenary. As of March 2017, there are 214 service personnel of the Commonwealth of both wars identified as buried here.

Angels plot:
Glasnevin is one of the few cemeteries that allowed stillborn babies to be buried in consecrated ground and contains an area called the Angels Plot.

Crematorium:
In 1982, a crematorium was constructed within the cemetery grounds by Glasnevin Trust. Since then, the service has been used for people of various religious denominations who wished to be cremated. Boyzone singer Stephen Gately was cremated at Glasnevin Crematorium in October 2009.

National Botanic Gardens

The activities and role of the Gardens is a great deal more varied than meets the eye. Our purpose is to explore, understand, conserve, and share the importance of plants. We aim to make the National Botanic Gardens a place where leisure, recreation and education are all compatible for the enjoyment of our visitors.

Conservation: Within the living collections at the National Botanic Gardens we have over 300 endangered species from around the world, and 6 species already extinct in the wild. These are a vital resource, like a Noah’s Ark for the future.

Education is a fundamental role of the National Botanic Gardens: through our collections and activities we aim to increase public awareness of plants and their importance to people globally.

Science: staff at the Gardens are actively describing new species; increasing our knowledge of the Irish flora; conducting collecting expeditions; and investigating the needs of our most threatened native species. The National Herbarium is based within the National Botanic Gardens, and has a collection of nearly ¾ million dried plant specimens. We also have an active DNA research lab.

Reference: By holding a wide range of named and labelled collections and keeping an up-to-date catalogue of the collections, the collection provides a unique reference source for Irish Gardeners, Horticulturists and Botanists.

Demonstration: Cultivating a wide range of plants from the diverse climatic regions of the world, and displaying these under good horticultural practice allows our visitors to see what they too can achieve in their own gardens. We run training courses in gardening and hold practical workshops throughout the year – see our events page for details.

Recreation: The overall design and contents of the Garden creates an environment that is stimulating, whether a visitor is here for instruction or pleasure. However it should be remembered that the primary role of the Gardens is as a scientific collection and therefore we do not allow dogs, picnics, bicycles, fishing, ball games, jogging or running, nor the playing of musical instruments or recorded music. Entry is free and we are open every day of the year besides Christmas Day. Opening times vary depending on the season.

Education:
A school visit to Glasnevin Cemetery consists of a guided tour of the cemetery, a self guided visit to the museum, and an exciting education pack. Our aim is to capture the imagination and send your class away inspired!

Our renowned history tour gives students the opportunity to explore the diversity of Irish life since 1800, through the stories of the famous (and not so famous) people who are buried here.

Tags: