متحف غوغنهايم بلباو، إسبانيا

متحف غوغنهايم بلباو هو متحف للفن الحديث والمعاصر صممه المهندس المعماري الكندي الكندي فرانك جهري، ويقع في بيلباو، إقليم الباسك، إسبانيا. وافتتح المتحف في 18 تشرين الأول / أكتوبر 1997 الملك الاسباني خوان كارلوس الأول. بنيت جنبا إلى جنب مع نهر نيرفيون، الذي يمر عبر مدينة بلباو إلى بحر كانتابريان، وهو واحد من العديد من المتاحف التابعة لمؤسسة سولومان R. غوغنهايم، ويضم المعارض الدائمة والزيارة من الأعمال من قبل الفنانين الإسبانية والدولية. وهي واحدة من أكبر المتاحف في إسبانيا.

مهمة متحف غوغنهايم بلباو هي جمع والحفاظ على، والبحث في الأعمال الفنية الحديثة والمعاصرة وتقديمها في سياقها التاريخي، وتقدم جمهور من كل عصر ونوع فرصة لاكتشاف فن عصرنا. ويقدم البرنامج الفني للمتحف، الذي يتضمن عروض من المجموعة الدائمة والمعارض الخاصة، في المبنى الذي صممه فرانك جهري، وهو معلم معماري استثنائي على قدم المساواة مع الكنوز الفنية التي يضمها. تم تصميم هذا المتحف كجزء من خطة طموحة لتحويل مدينة بلباو بالكامل، وهو نتاج شراكة استثنائية بين مؤسسات الباسك ومؤسسة سولومون ر. جوجنهايم. منذ افتتاحها لأول مرة للجمهور في 19 أكتوبر 1997، كان غوغنهايم بلباو جزءا من كوكبة دولية من متاحف غوغنهايم، تشتهر المباني الشهيرة ومبتكرة لنموذج المتحف الذي يسمح للأعضاء لتبادل الموارد والمشاريع والمبادرات.

واحدة من أكثر الأعمال المثيرة للإعجاب في الهندسة المعمارية المعاصرة، وقد أشاد المبنى بأنه “إشارة لحظة في الثقافة المعمارية”، لأنها تمثل “واحدة من تلك اللحظات النادرة عندما النقاد والأكاديميين والجمهور العام كانت متحدة تماما عن شيء “. كان المتحف هو المبنى الذي غالبا ما يطلق عليه اسم واحد من أهم الأعمال التي أنجزت منذ عام 1980 في مسح العمارة العالمية 2010 بين خبراء الهندسة المعمارية.

في عام 1991، اقترحت حكومة الباسك على مؤسسة سولومون ر. جوجنهايم أنها ستمول متحف غوغنهايم الذي سيتم بناؤه في منطقة ميناء بلباو، التي كانت مصدرا رئيسيا للدخل في المدينة. ووافقت حكومة الباسك على تغطية تكاليف البناء البالغة 100 مليون دولار أمريكي، لإنشاء صندوق استحواذ بقيمة 50 مليون دولار أمريكي، لدفع رسوم لمرة واحدة تبلغ قيمتها 20 مليون دولار أمريكي إلى غوغنهايم، ودعم الميزانية السنوية للمتحف البالغة 12 مليون دولار أمريكي. في المقابل، وافقت المؤسسة على إدارة المؤسسة، وتناوب أجزاء من مجموعتها الدائمة من خلال متحف بلباو وتنظيم المعارض المؤقتة.

تم بناء المتحف من قبل فيروفيال، بتكلفة قدرها 89 مليون دولار أمريكي. حضر حوالي 5000 من سكان بلباو روعة ما قبل الافتتاح خارج المتحف في الليلة السابقة الافتتاح الرسمي، ويضم عرضا خفيفا في الهواء الطلق والحفلات الموسيقية. وفي 18 تشرين الأول / أكتوبر 1997، افتتح المتحف خوان كارلوس الأول من اسبانيا.

بناء:
اختارت مؤسسة سولومون ر. جوجنهايم فرانك جهري كمهندس معماري، وشجعه مديرها توماس كرينز على تصميم شيء جريء ومبتكر. كان المقصود من المنحنيات على السطح الخارجي للمبنى أن يظهر عشوائيا. وقال المهندس المعماري أن “العشوائية من المنحنيات مصممة للقبض على الضوء”. الداخلية “مصممة حول أتريوم كبير مملوء بالضوء مع إطلالة على مصب بلباو والتلال المحيطة في بلاد الباسك”. الأتريوم، الذي جهري الملقب زهرة بسبب شكله، بمثابة مركز تنظيم للمتحف.

يعد مبنى متحف غوغنهايم بلباو الذي صممه المهندس المعماري الأمريكي فرانك جيهري، مثالا رائعا على أكثر فن العمارة في القرن العشرين. مع 24،000 M2، منها 11،000 مخصصة لمساحة المعرض، ويمثل المتحف معلما المعماري من التكوين الجريء والتصميم المبتكر، وتوفير خلفية مغر للفن المعروض في ذلك.

وإجمالا، يخلق تصميم جهري بنية رائعة مثل النحت، ومتكاملة تماما في النمط الحضري لبلباو والمنطقة المحيطة بها.

محاط بالسبل والميادين الجذابة، ويقع المتحف في منطقة وضعت حديثا من المدينة، وترك الماضي الصناعي وراءها. تقع ساحة المتحف والمدخل الرئيسي في خط مباشر مع كالي إيباراجير، واحدة من الشوارع الرئيسية التي تنطلق قطريا من خلال بلباو، وتمتد وسط المدينة إلى أعلى باب المتحف. مرة واحدة في ساحة، الزوار الوصول إلى قاعة طريق طريقها إلى أسفل درج واسع، وهي ميزة غير عادية أن يتغلب بنجاح الفرق الارتفاع بين المناطق جنبا إلى جنب مع نهر نيرفيون، حيث يقف المتحف، ومستوى أعلى المدينة. وبهذه الطريقة، خلق جهري بنية مذهلة دون أن ترتفع فوق ارتفاع المباني المجاورة. ويتوجه الجزء العلوي من المتحف من خلال كوة كبيرة على شكل زهرة معدنية تغطي أتريوم، واحدة من السمات الأكثر تميزا في المبنى.

ومن الممكن المشي على طول الطريق حول المتحف، والاعجاب تكوينات مختلفة من كل منظور وأيضا عدد من الأعمال الفنية المثبتة خارج من قبل الفنانين مثل لويز بورجوا، إدواردو شيليدا، إيف كلاين، جيف كونس، أو فوجيكو ناكايا. يتم عبور موقع المتحف في نهاية واحدة من قبل جسر لا سالف التي، منذ عام 2007، ويدعم النحت بتكليف من دانيال بورين بعنوان أركوس روجوس / أركو غورياك. يمتد تحت الجسر، معرض 104-مساحة هائلة خالية من الأعمدة التي تنصب تركيب ريتشارد سيرا في وقت من الأوقات ينتهي في برج، لفتة النحت التي تجلب التصميم المعماري إلى الصعود الذي يبدو أن يغلف الجسر الضخم وفعالية يدمجها في المبنى.

مرة واحدة داخل قاعة، الزوار الوصول إلى أتريوم، القلب الحقيقي للمتحف واحدة من سمات توقيع التصميم المعماري فرانك جهري. مع أحجام منحنية وجدران الستار الزجاجية الكبيرة التي تربط الداخل والخارج، الأتريوم هو مساحة واسعة غمرت الضوء ومغطاة منور كوة. وتنظم المستويات الثلاثة للمبنى حول الأتريوم وهي متصلة بواسطة ممرات منحنية، ومصاعد من التيتانيوم والزجاج، وسلالم. بالإضافة إلى مساحة المعرض، يعمل أتريوم كمحور للمعارض ال 20، وبعضها متعامد الشكل وبأبعاد كلاسيكية، وغيرها من الخطوط العضوية وغير المنتظمة. المسرحية مع أحجام مختلفة ووجهات نظر يولد الأماكن المغلقة حيث لا يشعر الزوار طغت. وقد أثبت هذا التنوع براعة هائلة في أيدي الخبراء من القيمين ومصممي المعرض الذين وجدوا الجو المثالي لتقديم كل شكل كبير يعمل في وسائل المعاصرة وعروض أصغر أو أكثر حميمية.

بالإضافة إلى مساحة معرض ومبنى مكتب منفصل، والمتحف لديه غرفة توجيه الزائر، زيرو إسبازيوا. قاعة جلوس 300؛ متجر / مكتبة؛ كافتيريا؛ ومطعمين: حانة صغيرة ومطعم حائز على نجمة ميشلان للمأكولات الراقية.

عندما افتتح متحف غوغنهايم بلباو للجمهور في عام 1997، كان يشيد على الفور باعتبارها واحدة من المباني الأكثر إثارة في العالم في أسلوب ديكونستروكتيفيسم، تحفة من القرن 20th. ووصف المهندس المعماري فيليب جونسون ذلك بأنه “أعظم مبنى في عصرنا”، في حين وصف الناقد كالفن تومكينز، في نيو يوركر، بأنه “سفينة حلم رائعة من شكل متموج في عباءة التيتانيوم”، كما تعكس لوحاتها الرائعة ببراعة قشور السمك. وأشاد هربرت موشامب ب “تألق الزئبق” في مجلة نيويورك تايمز. إن ذي إنديبندنت يطلق على المتحف “إنجاز معماري مذهل”. وقد ألهم المبنى بنايات أخرى ذات تصميم مماثل في جميع أنحاء العالم.

تم دمج المتحف بسلاسة في السياق الحضري، الذي يتكشف أشكاله المترابطة من الحجر والزجاج والتيتانيوم على مساحة 32،500 متر مربع على طول نهر نيرفيون في القلب الصناعي القديم للمدينة. بينما متواضعة من مستوى الشارع، هو الأكثر إثارة للإعجاب عندما ينظر إليها من النهر. مع ما مجموعه 24،000 M2، منها 11،000 M2 مخصصة لمساحة المعرض، كان لديها مساحة المعرض أكثر من مجموعات غوغنهايم الثلاث في نيويورك والبندقية جنبا إلى جنب في ذلك الوقت. يتم توزيع مساحة المعرض التي تبلغ مساحتها 11000 متر مربع على تسعة عشر صالات عرض، 10 منها تتبع خطة متعامدة كلاسيكية يمكن التعرف عليها من الخارج من خلال التشطيبات الحجرية. أما صالات العرض التسع المتبقية فهي غير منتظمة الشكل ويمكن تحديدها من الخارج من خلال أشكالها العضوية الدوامة وتكسية التيتانيوم. تبلغ مساحة أكبر معرض 30 مترا وعرضها 130 مترا. في عام 2005، كان يضم التركيب الضخم ريتشارد سيرا و ماتر أوف تايم، الذي وصفه روبرت هيوز “بشجاعة وسامية”.

المعارض:
ويشتمل المتحف على “أعمال ومنشآت واسعة النطاق خاصة بمواقع محددة من قبل الفنانين المعاصرين”، مثل ثعبان ريتشارد سيرا الذي يبلغ طوله 100 متر، ويعرض أعمال الفنانين الباسكيين، فضلا عن إسكان مجموعة مختارة من الأعمال “من مجموعة الفن الحديث للمؤسسة. في عام 1997، افتتح المتحف مع “المتاحف غوغنهايم وفن هذا القرن”، لمحة 300 قطعة من القرن 20 الفن من التكعيبية إلى الفن وسائل الإعلام الجديدة. وجاءت معظم القطع من مجموعة غوغنهايم الدائمة، ولكن المتحف أيضا حصل على لوحات من قبل ويليم دي كونينغ، مارك روثكو وكليفورد ستيل وأعمال جديدة بتكليف من فرانشيسكو كليمنتي، أنسيلم كيفر، جيني هولزر وريتشارد سيرا.

تتغير المعارض في كثير من الأحيان. يستضيف المتحف عموما معارض مواضيعية تركز على سبيل المثال على الفن الصيني أو الروسي. اللوحات التقليدية والمنحوتات هي أقلية بالمقارنة مع المنشآت والأشكال الإلكترونية. تسليط الضوء على المجموعة، ومعرضها الدائم الوحيد هو “مسألة الزمن”، سلسلة من التماثيل الفولاذية التجوية التي صممها سيرا، والذي يقع في معرض أرسيلور 130 متر. المجموعات تسلط الضوء عادة على الفن الطليعي، التجريد القرن ال 20، والفن غير موضوعي. عندما أعلن المتحف عن معرض 2011 “الفاصل المضيء”، عرض الأعمال الفنية التي تعود إلى رجل الأعمال اليوناني ديمتريس داسكالوبولوس، الذي هو أيضا وصي متحف، وقد واجه هذا انتقاد، من بين أمور أخرى، الكثير من سلطة تنظيمية لمنفعة خطيرة. وفي عام 2005، قام أوليفييه بيرغروين وإنغريد فايفر بتنظيم استعراضا لأيف كلاين. في عام 2012 استقطب المعرض ديفيد هوكني أكثر من 290،000 زائر للمتحف.

تأثير:
افتتح المتحف كجزء من جهود تنشيط لمدينة بلباو. تقريبا بعد افتتاحه مباشرة، أصبح غوغنهايم بلباو جذب سياحي شهير، مما جذب الزوار من جميع أنحاء العالم. في السنوات الثلاث الأولى، زار المتحف حوالي 4 ملايين سائح، مما ساعد على توليد حوالي 500 مليون يورو في النشاط الاقتصادي.

في السنوات الثلاث الأولى، زار المتحف حوالي 4 ملايين سائح، مما ساعد على توليد حوالي 500 مليون يورو في النشاط الاقتصادي. ويقدر المجلس الاقليمي أن المال الذي يقضيه الزوار على الفنادق والمطاعم والمحلات التجارية والنقل يسمح له بجمع 100 مليون يورو من الضرائب، وهو ما يزيد عن تكلفة البناء.

تم عرض المبنى في فيلم جيمس بوند عام 1999 العالم ليس كافيا في تسلسل ما قبل العنوان و 2007 فيلم التاميل سيفاجي: ذي بوس، الذي هو الإعداد للأغنية ستايل، ألحان A.R. الرحمن. ويظهر الفيديو الموسيقي ماريا كاري “حبيبته”، إخراج هايب ويليامز، المطربين جيرمين دوبري وكاري في مواقع مختلفة في متحف غوغنهايم بلباو.

Tags:

Guggenheim Museum Bilbao, Spain

The Guggenheim Museum Bilbao is a museum of modern and contemporary art designed by Canadian-American architect Frank Gehry, and located in Bilbao, Basque Country, Spain. The museum was inaugurated on 18 October 1997 by former King Juan Carlos I of Spain. Built alongside the Nervion River, which runs through the city of Bilbao to the Cantabrian Sea, it is one of several museums belonging to the Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation and features permanent and visiting exhibits of works by Spanish and international artists. It is one of the largest museums in Spain.

The Guggenheim Museum Bilbao’s mission is to collect, preserve, and research into modern and contemporary works of art and to present them in their historical context, offering audiences of every age and type a chance to discover the art of our time. The Museum’s art program, which includes presentations from the permanent collection and special exhibitions, is presented in the building designed by Frank Gehry, an extraordinary architectural landmark on a par with the art treasures it houses. Conceived as part of an ambitious plan to completely transform the city of Bilbao, the Museum is the product of an exceptional partnership between the Basque Institutions and the Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation. Since it first opened to the public on October 19, 1997, the Guggenheim Bilbao has been part of the international constellation of Guggenheim Museums, renowned for its iconic buildings and innovative approach to museum model that allows members to share resources, projects, and initiatives.

One of the most admired works of contemporary architecture, the building has been hailed as a “signal moment in the architectural culture”, because it represents “one of those rare moments when critics, academics, and the general public were all completely united about something.” The museum was the building most frequently named as one of the most important works completed since 1980 in the 2010 World Architecture Survey among architecture experts.

In 1991, the Basque government suggested to the Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation that it would fund a Guggenheim museum to be built in Bilbao’s decrepit port area, once the city’s main source of income. The Basque government agreed to cover the US$100 million construction cost, to create a US$50 million acquisitions fund, to pay a one-time US$20 million fee to the Guggenheim and to subsidize the museum’s US$12 million annual budget. In exchange, the Foundation agreed to manage the institution, rotate parts of its permanent collection through the Bilbao museum and organize temporary exhibitions.

The museum was built by Ferrovial, at a cost of US$89 million. About 5,000 residents of Bilbao attended a preopening extravaganza outside the museum on the night preceding the official opening, featuring an outdoor light show and concerts. On 18 October 1997 the museum was opened by Juan Carlos I of Spain.

Building:
The Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation selected Frank Gehry as the architect, and its director, Thomas Krens, encouraged him to design something daring and innovative. The curves on the exterior of the building were intended to appear random; the architect said that “the randomness of the curves are designed to catch the light”. The interior “is designed around a large, light-filled atrium with views of Bilbao’s estuary and the surrounding hills of the Basque country”. The atrium, which Gehry nicknamed The Flower because of its shape, serves as the organizing center of the museum.

Designed by American architect Frank Gehry, the Guggenheim Museum Bilbao building represents a magnificent example of the most groundbreaking 20th-century architecture. With 24,000 m2, of which 11,000 are dedicated to exhibition space, the Museum represents an architectural landmark of audacious configuration and innovating design, providing a seductive backdrop for the art exhibited in it.

Altogether, Gehry’s design creates a spectacular sculpture-like structure, perfectly integrated within Bilbao’s urban pattern and its surrounding area.

Surrounded by attractive avenues and squares, the Museum is located in a newly developed area of the city, leaving its industrial past behind. The Museum plaza and main entrance lie in a direct line with Calle Iparragirre—one of the main streets running diagonally through Bilbao—, extending the city center right up the Museum’s door. Once in the plaza, visitors access the Hall by making their way down a broad stairway, an unusual feature that successfully overcomes the height difference between the areas alongside the Nervión River, where the Museum stands, and the higher city level. This way, Gehry created a spectacular structure without it rising above the height of adjacent buildings. The highest part of the Museum is crowned by a large skylight in the shape of a metal flower covering the Atrium, one of the building’s most characteristic features.

It is possible to walk all the way around the Museum, admiring different configurations from each perspective and also a number of artworks installed outside by artists such as Louise Bourgeois, Eduardo Chillida, Yves Klein, Jeff Koons, or Fujiko Nakaya. The Museum site is crossed at one end by La Salve Bridge that, since 2007, supports the sculpture commissioned from Daniel Buren entitled Arcos rojos / Arku Gorriak. Stretching under the bridge, gallery 104—an enormous, column-free space that houses Richard Serra’s installation The Matter of Time—ends in a tower, a sculpture gesture that brings the architectural design to a crescendo that appears to envelop the colossal bridge and effectively incorporates it into the building.

Once inside the Hall, visitors access the Atrium, the real heart of the Museum and one of the signature traits of Frank Gehry’s architectural design. With curved volumes and large glass curtain walls that connect the inside and the outside, the Atrium is an ample space flooded with light and covered by a great skylight. The three levels of the building are organized around the Atrium and are connected by means of curved walkways, titanium and glass elevators, and staircases. Also an exhibition space, the Atrium functions as an axis for the 20 galleries, some orthogonally shaped and with classical proportions and others with organic, irregular lines. The play with different volumes and perspectives generates indoor spaces where visitors do not feel overwhelmed. Such variety has demonstrated its enormous versatility in the expert hands of curators and exhibition designers who have found the ideal atmosphere to present both large format works in contemporary mediums and smaller or more intimate shows.

In addition to the gallery space and a separate office building, the Museum has a visitor orientation room, Zero Espazioa; an auditorium seating 300; a store/bookstore; a cafeteria; and two restaurants: a bistro and a one Michelin star haute cuisine restaurant.

When the Guggenheim Museum Bilbao opened to the public in 1997, it was immediately hailed as one of the world’s most spectacular buildings in the style of Deconstructivism, a masterpiece of the 20th century. Architect Philip Johnson described it as “the greatest building of our time”, while critic Calvin Tomkins, in The New Yorker, characterized it as “a fantastic dream ship of undulating form in a cloak of titanium,” its brilliantly reflective panels also reminiscent of fish scales. Herbert Muschamp praised its “mercurial brilliance” in The New York Times Magazine. The Independent calls the museum “an astonishing architectural feat”. The building inspired other structures of similar design across the globe.

The museum is seamlessly integrated into the urban context, unfolding its interconnecting shapes of stone, glass and titanium on a 32,500-square-meter site along the Nervión River in the ancient industrial heart of the city; while modest from street level, it is most impressive when viewed from the river. With a total 24,000 m2, of which 11,000 m2 are dedicated to exhibition space, it had more exhibition space than the three Guggenheim collections in New York and Venice combined at that time. The 11,000 m2 of exhibition space are distributed over nineteen galleries, ten of which follow a classic orthogonal plan that can be identified from the exterior by their stone finishes. The remaining nine galleries are irregularly shaped and can be identified from the outside by their swirling organic forms and titanium cladding. The largest gallery measures 30 meters wide and 130 meters long. In 2005, it housed Richard Serra’s monumental installation The Matter of Time, which Robert Hughes dubbed “courageous and sublime”.

Exhibitions:
The museum notably houses “large-scale, site-specific works and installations by contemporary artists”, such as Richard Serra’s 100-meter-long Snake, and displays the work of Basque artists, “as well as housing a selection of works” from the Foundation’s modern art collection. In 1997, the museum opened with “The Guggenheim Museums and the Art of This Century”, a 300-piece overview of 20th-century art from Cubism to new media art. Most pieces came from the Guggenheim’s permanent collection, but the museum also acquired paintings by Willem de Kooning, Mark Rothko and Clyfford Still and commissioned new works by Francesco Clemente, Anselm Kiefer, Jenny Holzer and Richard Serra.

The exhibitions change often; the museum generally hosts thematic exhibitions, centered for example on Chinese or Russian art. Traditional paintings and sculptures are a minority compared to installations and electronic forms. The highlight of the collection, and its only permanent exhibit, is The Matter of Time, a series of weathering steel sculptures designed by Serra, which is housed in the 130-meter Arcelor Gallery. The collections usually highlight Avant-garde art, 20th century abstraction, and non-objective art. When the museum announced the 2011 exhibition “The Luminous Interval”, a show of artwork belonging to Greek businessman Dimitris Daskalopoulos, who is also a museum trustee, this met with criticism of, among other things, too much curatorial power for a serious benefactor. In 2005, Olivier Berggruen and Ingrid Pfeiffer curated a retrospective of Yves Klein. In 2012 David Hockney’s exhibition drew over 290,000 visitors to the museum.

Impact:
The museum was opened as part of a revitalization effort for the city of Bilbao. Almost immediately after its opening, the Guggenheim Bilbao became a popular tourist attraction, drawing visitors from around the globe. In its first three years, almost 4 million tourists visited the museum, helping to generate about €500 million in economic activity.

In its first three years, almost 4 million tourists visited the museum, helping to generate about €500 million in economic activity. The regional council estimated that the money visitors spent on hotels, restaurants, shops and transport allowed it to collect €100 million in taxes, which more than paid for the building cost.

The building was featured in the 1999 James Bond film The World Is Not Enough in the pre-title sequence and the 2007 Tamil film Sivaji: The Boss, in which it is the setting for the song Style, composed by A.R. Rahman. Mariah Carey’s music video “Sweetheart”, directed by Hype Williams, shows singers Jermaine Dupri and Carey in various locations at the Guggenheim Museum Bilbao.

Tags: