毕尔巴鄂古根海姆美术馆,西班牙

毕尔巴鄂古根海姆美术馆(Guggenheim Museum Bilbao)是由加拿大和美国建筑师弗兰克·盖里设计的现代和当代艺术博物馆,位于西班牙巴斯克地区的毕尔巴鄂。该博物馆于1997年10月18日由西班牙前国王胡安·卡洛斯一世就职。沿着穿过毕尔巴鄂市到坎塔布连海的Nervion河而建,它是隶属于所罗门·R·古根海姆基金会的几个博物馆之一,展出了西班牙和国际艺术家的作品。它是西班牙最大的博物馆之一。

毕尔巴鄂古根海姆美术馆的使命是收集,保存和研究现代和当代艺术作品,并将其展示在历史背景下,为每个年龄和类型的观众提供一个探索当代艺术的机会。博物馆的艺术计划,包括永久收藏和特别展览的介绍,在由弗兰克·盖里(Frank Gehry)设计的建筑物中展示,这是一个非常棒的建筑地标,与艺术珍品相媲美。该博物馆作为完全改造毕尔巴鄂市的雄心勃勃计划的一部分,是巴斯克机构与所罗门·R·古根海姆基金会之间卓越合作关系的产物。自1997年10月19日首次向公众开放以来,古根海姆毕尔巴鄂已经成为国际古根海姆博物馆的一部分,古根海姆博物馆以其标志性的建筑和创新的博物馆模式而闻名,让成员分享资源,项目和举措。

作为当代建筑最受赞赏的作品之一,这座建筑被誉为“建筑文化的信号时刻”,因为它代表了“批评家,学者和普通公众之间完全统一的罕见时刻之一“。这座博物馆是这座建筑最经常被命名为“建筑专家2010年世界建筑调查”自1980年以来完成的最重要的作品之一。

1991年,巴斯克政府向所罗门·古根海姆基金会(Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation)建议,将资助古根海姆博物馆(Guggenheim Museum)建在毕尔巴鄂(Bilbao)破旧的港口地区,曾经是该城市的主要收入来源。巴斯克政府同意承担1亿美元的建设成本,创建5000万美元的收购基金,向古根海姆支付2000万美元的一次性费用,并资助该博物馆年度预算1200万美元。作为交换,基金会同意管理该机构,通过毕尔巴鄂博物馆旋转部分永久收藏品,并组织临时展览。

博物馆由Ferrovial建造,耗资8900万美元。毕尔巴鄂大约有5000名居民在正式开幕之前的晚上参加了博物馆外的开放式盛会,举办室外灯光秀和音乐会。 1997年10月18日,西班牙前国王胡安·卡洛斯一世主持博物馆开幕仪式。

建造:
所罗门·R·古根海姆基金会(Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation)选择弗兰克·盖里(Frank Gehry)为建筑师,其导演托马斯·克雷恩斯(Thomas Krens)鼓励他设计一些大胆创新的东西建筑物外部的曲线是随机的,建筑师说,“曲线的随机性被设计为捕捉光线”。内部设计围绕着一个大型的,充满光线的中庭,可以欣赏到毕尔巴鄂的河口和巴斯克地区周围的山丘。盖里因其形状而被称为“花”的中庭是博物馆的组织中心。

由美国建筑师弗兰克·盖里(Frank Gehry)设计,毕尔巴鄂古根海姆博物馆(Guggenheim Museum Bilbao)代表了20世纪最具开创性建筑的典范。博物馆占地面积24000平方米,其中11,000平方米专门展示展览空间,代表了大胆配置和创新设计的建筑地标,为展出的艺术品提供了诱人的背景。

总之,盖里的设计创造了一个壮观的雕塑般的结构,完美地结合毕尔巴鄂的城市格局和周边地区。

博物馆四周是迷人的街道和广场,位于城市新发展的地区,留下了工业的过去。博物馆广场和主要入口与Calle Iparragirre(直通毕尔巴鄂对角的主要街道之一)直接相连,将市中心延伸至博物馆门口。一旦进入广场,游客可以沿着宽阔的楼梯进入大厅,这是一个非同寻常的功能,它成功地克服了博物馆所在的Nervión河和高等城市之间的高度差异。这样,盖里创造了一个壮观的结构,而不会超过相邻建筑的高度。博物馆的最高部分由一个金属花形状的大天窗加冠,该天花板覆盖了中庭,这是该建筑最具特色的一个特征。

在博物馆周围漫步,从各个角度欣赏不同的配置,还有路易斯·布尔乔亚,爱德华奇利达,伊夫·克莱因,杰夫·昆斯,藤谷藤子等艺术家在外面安装的许多艺术品。博物馆遗址一端由La Salve大桥穿过,自2007年以来,它支持由Daniel Buren委托的Arcos rojos / Arku Gorriak雕塑。在桥下伸展,画廊104-一个巨大的无柱空间,安置理查德·塞拉的装置时间的问题 – 在一个塔结束,一个雕塑手势,带来的建筑设计的渐强,似乎包围巨大的桥梁,有效将其整合到建筑物中。

一旦进入大厅,参观者就可以进入博物馆真正的心脏中庭,以及弗兰克•盖里建筑设计的特色之一。中庭采用弧形体积和连接内部和外部的大型玻璃幕墙,是一个充满光线的宽敞的空间,并覆盖着一个巨大的天窗。建筑的三个层次围绕中庭进行组织,并通过弧形走道,钛和玻璃电梯以及楼梯进行连接。中庭也是一个展览空间,作为20个画廊的轴心,有些是正交的,有着古典的比例,有些是有机的,不规则的线条。不同体积和角度的游戏产生室内空间,游客不会感到不知所措。这种品种已经证明了其在策展人和展览设计师的专家手中的巨大的多功能性,这些设计师已经找到了在当代媒体和更小或更亲密的表演中呈现大幅面作品的理想氛围。

除了画廊空间和一个单独的办公大楼,博物馆还有一个面向访问者的房间,零Espazioa;观众席300;一家商店/书店;自助餐厅和两间餐厅:小酒馆和米其林一星级高级美食餐厅。

毕尔巴鄂古根海姆博物馆于1997年向公众开放,立即被誉为20世纪杰作之一的解构主义风格的世界上最壮观的建筑之一。建筑师菲利普·约翰逊(Philip Johnson)形容这是“我们这个时代最伟大的建筑”,而“纽约客”中的评论家卡尔文·汤姆金斯(Calvin Tomkins)则将其描述为“一艘梦幻般的梦幻船形钛金斗篷”,它的反光板也令人想起鱼鳞。赫伯特·穆森(Herbert Muschamp)在“纽约时报”杂志上称赞其“mercurial brilliance”。独立报将博物馆称为“惊人的建筑壮举”。该建筑激发了全球其他类似设计的结构。

博物馆与城市环境无缝融合,在古老的工业中心Nervión河沿岸的32,500平方米的场地上展开了石材,玻璃和钛的相互连接的形状;而从街道水平来讲,从河流看,这是最令人印象深刻的。总面积2.4万平方米,其中11,000平方米专门用于展览空间,比纽约和威尼斯三个古根海姆藏品当时的展览空间更大。 11,000平方米的展览空间分布在19个画廊,其中10个遵循经典的正交计划,可以通过石材表面从外部识别。其余九个画廊是不规则形状,可以从外部通过他们的旋转有机形式和钛金属外壳识别。最大的廊道宽30米,长130米。 2005年,它安置了理查德·塞拉的纪念装置“时间的问题”,罗伯特·休斯被称为“勇敢和崇高”。

展览:
博物馆特别收藏了理查德·塞拉(Richard Serra)的100米长的“蛇”等“当代艺术家的大型特定地点的作品和装置”,展示了巴斯克艺术家的作品,以及“选择作品”基金会的现代艺术收藏。 1997年,该博物馆以“古根海姆博物馆与本世纪的艺术”开启,展现了从立体主义到新媒体艺术的二十世纪艺术的三百件概览。大多数作品来自古根海姆的永久收藏,但是该博物馆还收藏了威廉·德·库宁(Willem de Kooning),马克·罗斯科(Mark Rothko)和克莱福德·斯蒂尔(Clyfford Still)的作品,并委托了弗朗切斯科·克莱门特,安塞姆·基弗,珍妮·霍尔泽和理查德·塞拉的新作品。

展览经常变化。博物馆通常举办专题展览,例如以中国或俄罗斯艺术为中心。与装置和电子形式相比,传统绘画和雕塑是少数。收藏的亮点以及唯一的永久性展品是“时间的问题”(The Matter of Time),这是一系列塞拉(Serra)设计的风化钢雕,安置在130米长的安塞洛画廊(Arcelor Gallery)中。收藏通常突出前卫艺术,20世纪的抽象和非客观的艺术。当博物馆宣布2011年的展览“夜光间隔”,这是一个属于希腊商人Dimitris Daskalopoulos艺术博物馆,也是博物馆受托人,这是一个批评,尤其是一个严重的恩人,其中包括太多策展力量。 2005年,Olivier Berggruen和Ingrid Pfeiffer策划了Yves Klein的回顾展。 2012年,David Hockney的展览吸引了超过29万的参观者。

影响:
作为毕尔巴鄂市振兴工作的一部分,该博物馆开幕。几乎立即开放后,古根海姆毕尔巴鄂成为受欢迎的旅游景点,吸引来自世界各地的游客。在头三年,有近400万名游客参观了博物馆,帮助创造了约5亿欧元的经济活动。

在头三年,有近400万名游客参观了博物馆,帮助创造了约5亿欧元的经济活动。区域委员会估计,游客在酒店,餐馆,商店和交通工具上花费的钱使其能够收取1亿欧元的税收,这比建筑成本支付的还多。

这座建筑在1999年詹姆斯·邦德的电影“世界是不够的”,以及2007年的泰米尔语电影“西瓦吉:老板”中出现过。拉赫曼。 Mariah Carey的音乐录影带“甜心”由Hype Williams执导,在毕尔巴鄂古根汉美术馆的不同位置向歌手Jermaine Dupri和Carey展示。

Tags:

Guggenheim Museum Bilbao, Spain

The Guggenheim Museum Bilbao is a museum of modern and contemporary art designed by Canadian-American architect Frank Gehry, and located in Bilbao, Basque Country, Spain. The museum was inaugurated on 18 October 1997 by former King Juan Carlos I of Spain. Built alongside the Nervion River, which runs through the city of Bilbao to the Cantabrian Sea, it is one of several museums belonging to the Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation and features permanent and visiting exhibits of works by Spanish and international artists. It is one of the largest museums in Spain.

The Guggenheim Museum Bilbao’s mission is to collect, preserve, and research into modern and contemporary works of art and to present them in their historical context, offering audiences of every age and type a chance to discover the art of our time. The Museum’s art program, which includes presentations from the permanent collection and special exhibitions, is presented in the building designed by Frank Gehry, an extraordinary architectural landmark on a par with the art treasures it houses. Conceived as part of an ambitious plan to completely transform the city of Bilbao, the Museum is the product of an exceptional partnership between the Basque Institutions and the Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation. Since it first opened to the public on October 19, 1997, the Guggenheim Bilbao has been part of the international constellation of Guggenheim Museums, renowned for its iconic buildings and innovative approach to museum model that allows members to share resources, projects, and initiatives.

One of the most admired works of contemporary architecture, the building has been hailed as a “signal moment in the architectural culture”, because it represents “one of those rare moments when critics, academics, and the general public were all completely united about something.” The museum was the building most frequently named as one of the most important works completed since 1980 in the 2010 World Architecture Survey among architecture experts.

In 1991, the Basque government suggested to the Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation that it would fund a Guggenheim museum to be built in Bilbao’s decrepit port area, once the city’s main source of income. The Basque government agreed to cover the US$100 million construction cost, to create a US$50 million acquisitions fund, to pay a one-time US$20 million fee to the Guggenheim and to subsidize the museum’s US$12 million annual budget. In exchange, the Foundation agreed to manage the institution, rotate parts of its permanent collection through the Bilbao museum and organize temporary exhibitions.

The museum was built by Ferrovial, at a cost of US$89 million. About 5,000 residents of Bilbao attended a preopening extravaganza outside the museum on the night preceding the official opening, featuring an outdoor light show and concerts. On 18 October 1997 the museum was opened by Juan Carlos I of Spain.

Building:
The Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation selected Frank Gehry as the architect, and its director, Thomas Krens, encouraged him to design something daring and innovative. The curves on the exterior of the building were intended to appear random; the architect said that “the randomness of the curves are designed to catch the light”. The interior “is designed around a large, light-filled atrium with views of Bilbao’s estuary and the surrounding hills of the Basque country”. The atrium, which Gehry nicknamed The Flower because of its shape, serves as the organizing center of the museum.

Designed by American architect Frank Gehry, the Guggenheim Museum Bilbao building represents a magnificent example of the most groundbreaking 20th-century architecture. With 24,000 m2, of which 11,000 are dedicated to exhibition space, the Museum represents an architectural landmark of audacious configuration and innovating design, providing a seductive backdrop for the art exhibited in it.

Altogether, Gehry’s design creates a spectacular sculpture-like structure, perfectly integrated within Bilbao’s urban pattern and its surrounding area.

Surrounded by attractive avenues and squares, the Museum is located in a newly developed area of the city, leaving its industrial past behind. The Museum plaza and main entrance lie in a direct line with Calle Iparragirre—one of the main streets running diagonally through Bilbao—, extending the city center right up the Museum’s door. Once in the plaza, visitors access the Hall by making their way down a broad stairway, an unusual feature that successfully overcomes the height difference between the areas alongside the Nervión River, where the Museum stands, and the higher city level. This way, Gehry created a spectacular structure without it rising above the height of adjacent buildings. The highest part of the Museum is crowned by a large skylight in the shape of a metal flower covering the Atrium, one of the building’s most characteristic features.

It is possible to walk all the way around the Museum, admiring different configurations from each perspective and also a number of artworks installed outside by artists such as Louise Bourgeois, Eduardo Chillida, Yves Klein, Jeff Koons, or Fujiko Nakaya. The Museum site is crossed at one end by La Salve Bridge that, since 2007, supports the sculpture commissioned from Daniel Buren entitled Arcos rojos / Arku Gorriak. Stretching under the bridge, gallery 104—an enormous, column-free space that houses Richard Serra’s installation The Matter of Time—ends in a tower, a sculpture gesture that brings the architectural design to a crescendo that appears to envelop the colossal bridge and effectively incorporates it into the building.

Once inside the Hall, visitors access the Atrium, the real heart of the Museum and one of the signature traits of Frank Gehry’s architectural design. With curved volumes and large glass curtain walls that connect the inside and the outside, the Atrium is an ample space flooded with light and covered by a great skylight. The three levels of the building are organized around the Atrium and are connected by means of curved walkways, titanium and glass elevators, and staircases. Also an exhibition space, the Atrium functions as an axis for the 20 galleries, some orthogonally shaped and with classical proportions and others with organic, irregular lines. The play with different volumes and perspectives generates indoor spaces where visitors do not feel overwhelmed. Such variety has demonstrated its enormous versatility in the expert hands of curators and exhibition designers who have found the ideal atmosphere to present both large format works in contemporary mediums and smaller or more intimate shows.

In addition to the gallery space and a separate office building, the Museum has a visitor orientation room, Zero Espazioa; an auditorium seating 300; a store/bookstore; a cafeteria; and two restaurants: a bistro and a one Michelin star haute cuisine restaurant.

When the Guggenheim Museum Bilbao opened to the public in 1997, it was immediately hailed as one of the world’s most spectacular buildings in the style of Deconstructivism, a masterpiece of the 20th century. Architect Philip Johnson described it as “the greatest building of our time”, while critic Calvin Tomkins, in The New Yorker, characterized it as “a fantastic dream ship of undulating form in a cloak of titanium,” its brilliantly reflective panels also reminiscent of fish scales. Herbert Muschamp praised its “mercurial brilliance” in The New York Times Magazine. The Independent calls the museum “an astonishing architectural feat”. The building inspired other structures of similar design across the globe.

The museum is seamlessly integrated into the urban context, unfolding its interconnecting shapes of stone, glass and titanium on a 32,500-square-meter site along the Nervión River in the ancient industrial heart of the city; while modest from street level, it is most impressive when viewed from the river. With a total 24,000 m2, of which 11,000 m2 are dedicated to exhibition space, it had more exhibition space than the three Guggenheim collections in New York and Venice combined at that time. The 11,000 m2 of exhibition space are distributed over nineteen galleries, ten of which follow a classic orthogonal plan that can be identified from the exterior by their stone finishes. The remaining nine galleries are irregularly shaped and can be identified from the outside by their swirling organic forms and titanium cladding. The largest gallery measures 30 meters wide and 130 meters long. In 2005, it housed Richard Serra’s monumental installation The Matter of Time, which Robert Hughes dubbed “courageous and sublime”.

Exhibitions:
The museum notably houses “large-scale, site-specific works and installations by contemporary artists”, such as Richard Serra’s 100-meter-long Snake, and displays the work of Basque artists, “as well as housing a selection of works” from the Foundation’s modern art collection. In 1997, the museum opened with “The Guggenheim Museums and the Art of This Century”, a 300-piece overview of 20th-century art from Cubism to new media art. Most pieces came from the Guggenheim’s permanent collection, but the museum also acquired paintings by Willem de Kooning, Mark Rothko and Clyfford Still and commissioned new works by Francesco Clemente, Anselm Kiefer, Jenny Holzer and Richard Serra.

The exhibitions change often; the museum generally hosts thematic exhibitions, centered for example on Chinese or Russian art. Traditional paintings and sculptures are a minority compared to installations and electronic forms. The highlight of the collection, and its only permanent exhibit, is The Matter of Time, a series of weathering steel sculptures designed by Serra, which is housed in the 130-meter Arcelor Gallery. The collections usually highlight Avant-garde art, 20th century abstraction, and non-objective art. When the museum announced the 2011 exhibition “The Luminous Interval”, a show of artwork belonging to Greek businessman Dimitris Daskalopoulos, who is also a museum trustee, this met with criticism of, among other things, too much curatorial power for a serious benefactor. In 2005, Olivier Berggruen and Ingrid Pfeiffer curated a retrospective of Yves Klein. In 2012 David Hockney’s exhibition drew over 290,000 visitors to the museum.

Impact:
The museum was opened as part of a revitalization effort for the city of Bilbao. Almost immediately after its opening, the Guggenheim Bilbao became a popular tourist attraction, drawing visitors from around the globe. In its first three years, almost 4 million tourists visited the museum, helping to generate about €500 million in economic activity.

In its first three years, almost 4 million tourists visited the museum, helping to generate about €500 million in economic activity. The regional council estimated that the money visitors spent on hotels, restaurants, shops and transport allowed it to collect €100 million in taxes, which more than paid for the building cost.

The building was featured in the 1999 James Bond film The World Is Not Enough in the pre-title sequence and the 2007 Tamil film Sivaji: The Boss, in which it is the setting for the song Style, composed by A.R. Rahman. Mariah Carey’s music video “Sweetheart”, directed by Hype Williams, shows singers Jermaine Dupri and Carey in various locations at the Guggenheim Museum Bilbao.

Tags: