约翰·唐曼

约翰·唐曼(John Downman)(1750年至1824年)是威尔士人的主要画家和绘画家,主要是肖像画。

他主要住在伦敦,但他广泛地前往国家,经常住在大房子里,同时他制作了一系列的家庭成员肖像画。在剑桥Fitzwilliam博物馆,他的肖像画大量收藏。

Downman被认为是在Ruabon,Denbighshire,St Neots的律师Francis Downman的儿子和Charlotte(George I的私人秘书长女)的Ruabon附近出生的;他的祖父休·唐曼(1672-1729)曾担任过纯粹军械大师的主人。 Downman家族通常被称为Devonshire家族,但艺术家和Devonshire分支之间的确切关系尚未被追溯。他在切斯特先生受教育,然后在利物浦接受教育,最后在皇家学院学习,并在本杰明·西的工作室度过了一段时间。

他是Benjamin West的学生,之后成为1769年在皇家学院首次录取学生的一部分。

唐纳德与德比的约瑟夫·赖特(Derby Wright),意大利的怀特安·赖特(Richard Wright)和理查德·赫尔斯顿(Richard Hurleston)于1773年出发。他们的船在1774年2月在意大利里沃尔诺完成对外航行之前,已经在尼斯避难三个星期。在1775年,斯曼回到了英国。

在他回到英国后,他成为一位领先的时尚肖像画家。他的成功部分取决于他的工作速度,从17世纪80年代起,他放弃了油,赞成一种独特的技术,使他能够大量生产肖像,使用黑色粉笔轻轻涂上水彩画。

他在剑桥(1777年)定居了一段时间,最终来到伦敦,在那里他为各种艺术展览做出了贡献。在1804年,他搬到了位于肯特的西商城村。在1806年,唐纳姆访问了西方国家的普利茅斯,1807年至1808年,他在埃克塞特执业,之后在伦敦工作了几年,于1818-19年在切斯特定居,然后终于搬到了雷克瑟姆,唯一的女儿在那里结婚,于1824年12月24日死亡。他向他女儿留下了大量的绘画和绘画。他也是埃德温·唐纳爵士的父亲。

他在1769年至1819年期间在皇家学院展出了148件作品,主要是肖像画,但经常为莎士比亚画廊画的“罗莎琳德” “Lucretia的死亡;巴克斯的祭司; “托拜厄斯;” ‘Fair Rosamond” “Orestes的回归” “罗伯特公爵”等。在1795年,他被选为皇家学院的助理。

作品:
他在皇家学院(1769年)的第一次工作是油画中的一个小画像,而最后一个(1819年),1815年,英国博物馆的受托人在1884年获得了一位晚年公主,通过购买,由Downman包含许多彩色图画的卷,其中有几个肖像,现在分开安装。他还留下了几卷精美的图画,以红色和黑色粉笔执行,其中拉尔夫·内维尔·格伦维尔(Ralph Neville Grenville)出版了一本目录(Taunton,1865年)。他还画了一些微型肖像。 Bartolozzi和其他人也做了雕刻。他的许多肖像都附有尊重代表人士的言论。

东方女人,拿着火炬1806国家美术馆,华盛顿特区
罗伯特,诺曼底公爵,监狱1779耶鲁英国艺术中心
Clytemnestra的鬼魂唤醒了Furie 1781耶鲁大学英国艺术中心
一个蓝色的窗口的女人肖像1791国家美术馆,华盛顿特区
乔治米尔斯太太1783国家美术馆,华盛顿特区
肖像一个女人在简介1791国家美术馆,华盛顿特区
一个未知的人1780耶鲁英国艺术中心
乔治米尔斯1792国家美术馆,华盛顿特区
洛杉矶县艺术博物馆放大镜的老夫人

John Downman

John Downman (1750 – 1824) was a Welsh portrait and subject painter and draughtsman, mainly of portraits.

He lived mainly in London, but he travelled widely about the country, often staying in great houses while he produced a series of portraits of members of the family. There is a large collection of his portrait drawings in the Fitzwilliam Museum, Cambridge.

Downman is thought to have been born near Ruabon, Denbighshire, the son of Francis Downman, attorney, of St Neots, and Charlotte (née Goodsend, eldest daughter of the private secretary to George I); his grandfather, Hugh Downman (1672–1729), had been the master of the House of Ordnance at Sheerness. The Downman family is usually known as a Devonshire one, but the exact connexion between the artist and the Devonshire branch has not been traced. He was educated first at Chester, then at Liverpool, and finally at the Royal Academy schools, and was for a while in the studio of Benjamin West.

He was a pupil of Benjamin West, before becoming part of the first intake of students at the Royal Academy in 1769.

Downman set off in 1773 with Joseph Wright of Derby, a pregnant Ann Wright and Richard Hurleston for Italy. Their ship took shelter for three weeks in Nice before they completed their outward voyage in Livorno in Italy in February 1774. Downman returned to Britain in 1775.

After his return to England he became a leading fashionable portraitist. His success depended partly on his speed of work, and from the 1780s he relinquished oils in favour of a distinctive technique that enabled him to produce portraits in great quantity, using black chalk lightly tinted with watercolour.

He settled down for a while in Cambridge (1777), eventually coming to London, where he contributed to various art exhibitions. In 1804 he moved to the village of West Malling in Kent. In 1806, Downman visited Plymouth in the West Country, between 1807 and 1808 he practised at Exeter, afterwards working in London for some years, settling at Chester in 1818-19, then finally moving to Wrexham, where his only daughter married and where he died on 24 December 1824. He left a large collection of his paintings and drawings to his daughter. He was also the father of Sir Edwin Downman.

He exhibited 148 works in the Royal Academy between 1769 and 1819, mainly portraits, but often fancy subjects, such as ‘Rosalind,’ painted for the Shakespeare Gallery; ‘The Death of Lucretia; The Priestess of Bacchus;’ ‘Tobias;’ ‘Fair Rosamond;’ ‘The Return of Orestes;’ ‘Duke Robert,’ etc. In 1795 he was elected an associate of the Royal Academy.

Works:
His first work at the Royal Academy (1769) was A small portrait in oil,’ and the last (1819), A late Princess personifying Peace crowning the glory of England reflected on Europe, 1815. In 1884 the trustees of the British Museum acquired, by purchase, a volume containing numerous coloured drawings by Downman, among which were several portraits, now separately mounted. He also left several volumes of exquisite drawings, executed in red and black chalk, of which Ralph Neville Grenville published a catalogue (Taunton, 1865). He also painted some miniature portraits. Engravings were also made by Bartolozzi and others. Many of his portraits have attached to them remarks of considerable importance respecting the persons represented.

Oriental Woman, Holding a Torch 1806 National Gallery of Art, Washington DC
Robert, Duke of Normandy, in Prison 1779 Yale Center for British Art
The Ghost of Clytemnestra Awakening the Furie 1781 Yale Center for British Art
Portrait of a Woman with a Blue Sash 1791 National Gallery of Art, Washington DC
Mrs. George Mills 1783 National Gallery of Art, Washington DC
Portrait of a Woman in Profile 1791 National Gallery of Art, Washington DC
An Unknown Man 1780 Yale Center for British Art
George Mills 1792 National Gallery of Art, Washington DC
Old Lady with Magnifying Glass Los Angeles County Museum of Art