约瑟夫·杜普莱西斯

约瑟夫·杜普莱西斯(Joseph-Siffred Duplessis 1725年9月22日 – 1802年4月1日)是十八世纪下半叶的法国画家。他画路易十六加冕长袍这样一个宏伟而壮丽的肖像被反复复制,本杰明·富兰克林的半身像转载于$ 100美元的法案。

他出生在卡庞特拉在Comtat的,9月22日,1725年他是最年长的一位外科医生(也是一位画家),约瑟夫·威廉·迪普勒西斯,谁拥有十个孩子。他从父亲那里接受了他的第一课,并在阿维尼翁新城的黄绿与卡尔特约瑟夫·加布里埃尔·安贝尔培训。

1744年,Duplessis进入皮尔·萨布莱拉斯的工作室在罗马。期间,他在罗马逗留,他遇到吉尔内,与他保持绑定。他回到卡庞特拉到1748年它响应命令当地贵族的,而且可能随着亚历克西·佩罗特,装饰,制药巴黎主公医院建设中的参与合作。 1751年,他转会到里昂之前在巴黎在1752年终于尘埃落定。

从1764他陈列在圣路加学院。它特别说明的父亲弗朗索瓦·阿诺的画像(1721年至1784年),奥比尼昂本地人,卡庞特拉附近。在法兰西文学院的成员的肖像,热闹而闻名的精神有助于画家的声誉。 1769年,在绘画的著名学院批准,他被录取了绘画和雕塑,1774年8月6日的英国皇家科学院与雕塑家克里斯托弗·加布里埃尔·阿莱格雷恩和画家约瑟夫·玛丽·维恩(的画像,现在博物馆卢浮宫)。有才华的肖像画家,他的作品是通过触摸充满活力的特点。他很大的相似的画像,有也给予其车型的友好和表现图像的区别。

这是国王路易十六的肖像胸像和长度来奉献,艺术家在他的职业生涯的高度。它承载着国王的随从的肖像(普罗旺斯伯爵,未来路易十八,那不勒斯和西西里岛,公爵夫人沙特尔玛丽亚的Amalia),贵族(玛丽·路易莎de Savoie酒店,佳丽酿,公主德兰巴拉,计数Angiviller)和著名人物为格鲁克或本杰明·富兰克林的。

自1928年以来,它是由Duplessis燃烧本杰明·富兰克林的肖像装饰美的百元大钞。

法国大革命结束了他的职业生涯作为一个画家。在那里,他参加了艺术品的卡庞特拉地区库存回到他1793年到他的家乡。他被任命为凡尔赛1796年他在凡尔赛死于1802 4月1日画廊馆长。

工作原理:
肖像Billarderie(1830至09年)的查尔斯克劳德,计数Angiviller 1779的,油画,144×10 6厘米,凡尔赛和特里亚农六宫国家博物馆。
自画像,1801年,布面油画,58×49厘米,凡尔赛宫和特里亚农宫殿国家博物馆
法国国王和纳瓦拉,路易十六的官方肖像(1754年至1793年),加冕礼服,1777
肖像克里斯托弗·加布里埃尔·阿莱格雷恩1774
杰克斯·内克尔(1732年至1804年),凡尔赛宫和特里亚农宫殿国家博物馆
肖像约瑟夫·玛丽·维恩的
肖像本杰明·富兰克林,1785布面油画,国家肖像画廊,华盛顿特区,美国
路易丝·玛丽·阿德莱德·德·波旁,1780
肖像克里斯托夫·维利巴尔德·冯·格鲁克,美术维也纳的博物馆(奥地利)
Buissy先生(1780),加拿大,渥太华国家美术馆
自画像,1780年,布面油画,博物馆夫博物馆 – Duplessis,卡庞特拉
肖像父亲弗朗索瓦·阿诺,之前1764布面油画,博物馆夫博物馆 – Duplessis,卡庞特拉
肖像加布里埃尔奥利维尔Durouret的,1774布面油画,博物馆夫博物馆 – Duplessis,卡庞特拉
肖像侯爵夫人圣波莱的,布面油画,博物馆夫博物馆 – Duplessis,卡庞特拉
肖像约瑟夫秘鲁,1793年,油画的,博物馆夫博物馆 – Duplessis,卡庞特拉
肖像约瑟夫秘鲁(研究)布面油画,考维博物馆,阿维尼翁
肖像先生CAVET,布面油画,博物馆Sobirats卡庞特拉
肖像夫人CAVET,布面油画,博物馆Sobirats卡庞特拉
圣十字的圣赫勒拿岛,布面油画,大教堂圣Siffrein卡彭特发明
五旬节,油画,大教堂圣Siffrein卡庞特拉

Joseph Duplessis

Joseph-Siffred Duplessis (September 22, 1725 – April 1, 1802) is a French painter of the second half of the eighteenth century. He paints in particular a majestic and imposing portrait of Louis XVI in coronation costume that will be repeatedly duplicated, as well as a bust of Benjamin Franklin reproduced on the American ticket of 100 dollars.

He was born in Carpentras, Comtat Venaissin, September 22, 1725. He is the eldest of a surgeon (also a painter), Joseph-Guillaume Duplessis, who has ten children. He received his first lessons from his father and then formed with the Carthusian Joseph Gabriel Imbert at the Chartreuse of Villeneuve-lès-Avignon.

In 1744, Duplessis entered the studio of Pierre Subleyras in Rome. During his Roman stay, he meets Claude Joseph Vernet with whom he remains connected. He returned to Carpentras around 1748. He responded to orders from the local aristocracy and in all likelihood collaborated with Alexis Peyrotte in the decor of the hotel-Dieu pharmacy under construction. In 1751, he settled in Lyon before finally settling in Paris in 1752.

From 1764, he exhibited at the Academy of Saint-Luc. He shows in particular the portrait of the Abbe François Arnaud (1721-1784), native of Aubignan, near Carpentras. This portrait of a member of the Academy of Inscriptions and Belles-lettres, a lively and reputed spirit, contributes to the notoriety of the painter. He was admitted to the prestigious Academy of Painting in 1769 and received at the Royal Academy of Painting and Sculpture on 6 August 1774 with the portraits of the sculptor Christophe-Gabriel Allegrain and the painter Joseph-Marie Vien of the Louvre). A talented portraitist, his works are characterized by a touch full of vigor. His portraits, of a very great resemblance, have the particularity of also giving a kind and expressive image of his models.

It is with the portraits in bust and foot of King Louis XVI that the consecration comes, the artist is at the height of his career. He performed the portraits of the King’s entourage (the Comte de Provence, future Louis XVIII, Marie-Amélie de Bourbon-Siciles, Duchess of Chartres), the aristocracy (Marie-Louise of Savoy-Carignan, Princess of Lamballe, The Count of Angiviller) and famous characters like Gluck or Benjamin Franklin.

Since 1928, Duplessis’s engraving of the portrait of Benjamin Franklin has adorned the US $ 100 notes.

The French Revolution puts an end to his career as a painter. He returned in 1793 to his hometown where he participated in the inventory of works of art in the district of Carpentras. He was appointed curator of the galleries of the Château de Versailles in 1796. He died at Versailles on 1 April 1802.

works:
Portrait of Charles Claude de la Billarderie (1730-1809), Count of Angiviller, circa 1779, oil on canvas, 144 × 106 cm, National Museum of Versailles and Trianon castles.
Self-portrait, 1801, oil on canvas, 58 × 49 cm, National Museum of the castles of Versailles and Trianon
Official portrait of the King of France and Navarre, Louis XVI (1754-1793), in the sacre habit, 1777
Portrait of Christophe-Gabriel Allegrain, 1774
Jacques Necker (1732-1804), National Museum of the Châteaux of Versailles and Trianon
Portrait of Joseph-Marie Vien
Portrait of Benjamin Franklin, 1785, oil on canvas, National Portrait Gallery, Washington, DC, USA
Louise Marie Adélaïde de Bourbon, about 1780
Portrait of Christoph Willibald von Gluck, Vienna Museum of Fine Arts (Austria)
Mr. de Buissy (circa 1780), National Gallery of Canada, Ottawa
Self-portrait, 1780, oil on canvas, Museum Comtadin-Duplessis, Carpentras
Portrait of the Abbe François Arnaud, before 1764, oil on canvas, Musée Comtadin-Duplessis, Carpentras
Portrait of Gabriel d’Olivier Durouret, 1774, oil on canvas, Museum Comtadin-Duplessis, Carpentras
Portrait of the Marquise de Saint-Paulet, oil on canvas, Musée Comtadin-Duplessis, Carpentras
Portrait of Joseph Péru, 1793, oil on canvas, Museum Comtadin-Duplessis, Carpentras
Portrait of Joseph Péru (study), oil on canvas, Musée Calvet, Avignon
Portrait of Monsieur de Cavet, oil on canvas, Musée Sobirats, Carpentras
Portrait of Madame de Cavet, oil on canvas, Musée Sobirats, Carpentras
The Invention of the Holy Cross by Saint Helena, oil on canvas, Cathedral of Saint-Siffrein, Carpentras
Pentecost, oil on canvas, Saint-Siffrein Cathedral, Carpentras