Système de couleurs Munsell

En colorimétrie, le système de couleurs Munsell est un espace colorimétrique qui spécifie des couleurs basées sur trois dimensions de couleur: la teinte, la valeur (luminosité) et la chrominance (pureté de la couleur). Il a été créé par le professeur Albert H. Munsell dans la première décennie du 20ème siècle et adopté par l’USDA comme système de couleur officiel pour la recherche sur le sol dans les années 1930.

Munsell a été le premier à séparer la teinte, la valeur et la chrominance dans des dimensions perceptuellement uniformes et indépendantes, et il a été le premier à illustrer systématiquement le système de couleurs. couleurs dans l’espace en trois dimensions. Le système de Munsell, en particulier les renotations ultérieures, est basé sur des mesures rigoureuses des réponses visuelles des sujets humains à la couleur, le mettant sur une ferme base scientifique expérimentale. En raison de cette base dans la perception visuelle humaine, le système de Munsell a survécu à ses modèles de couleurs contemporains, et bien qu’il ait été remplacé pour certains usages par des modèles tels que CIELAB (L * a * b *) et CIECAM02, il est encore largement utilisé aujourd’hui. .

Explication

Le système se compose de trois dimensions indépendantes qui peuvent être représentées cylindriquement en trois dimensions sous la forme d’un solide de couleur irrégulière: la teinte, mesurée par degrés autour des cercles horizontaux; chroma, mesurée radialement vers l’extérieur à partir de l’axe vertical neutre (gris); et la valeur, mesurée verticalement de 0 (noir) à 10 (blanc). Munsell a déterminé l’espacement des couleurs le long de ces dimensions en prenant des mesures de réponses visuelles humaines. Dans chaque dimension, les couleurs de Munsell sont aussi proches de l’uniformité perceptive qu’il pourrait les faire, ce qui rend la forme résultante assez irrégulière. Comme l’explique Munsell:

Le désir d’adapter un contour choisi, tel que la pyramide, le cône, le cylindre ou le cube, couplé à un manque de tests appropriés, a conduit à de nombreuses déclarations déformées des relations de couleur, et il devient évident, lorsque la mesure physique des pigments et des chromas est étudié, qu’aucun contour régulier ne servira.

– Albert H. Munsell, “Un système de couleur pigmentaire et de notation”
Teinte
Chaque cercle horizontal Munsell se divise en cinq teintes principales: Rouge, Jaune, Vert, Bleu et Violet, avec 5 teintes intermédiaires (par exemple, YR) à mi-chemin entre les teintes principales adjacentes. Chacune de ces 10 étapes, avec le nombre donné de teintes 5, est ensuite divisée en 10 sous-étapes, de sorte que 100 teintes reçoivent des valeurs entières. En pratique, les nuanciers spécifient conventionnellement 40 teintes, par incréments de 2,5, progressant par exemple de 10R à 2,5YR.

Deux couleurs de valeur égale et de chrominance, sur les côtés opposés d’un cercle de teinte, sont des couleurs complémentaires et se mélangent de manière additive au gris neutre de même valeur. Le diagramme ci-dessous montre 40 teintes Munsell régulièrement espacées, avec des compléments alignés verticalement.

Valeur
La valeur, ou la luminosité, varie verticalement le long de la couleur, du noir (valeur 0) en bas, au blanc (valeur 10) en haut. Les gris neutres se situent le long de l’axe vertical entre le noir et le blanc.

Plusieurs solides de couleur avant Munsell tracèrent la luminosité du noir sur le fond au blanc sur le dessus, avec un gradient gris entre eux, mais ces systèmes ont négligé de garder la légèreté perceptuelle constante à travers les tranches horizontales. Au lieu de cela, ils ont tracé complètement le jaune saturé (lumière), et complètement saturé bleu et violet (foncé) le long de l’équateur.

Chroma
Chroma, mesurée radialement à partir du centre de chaque tranche, représente la “pureté” d’une couleur (liée à la saturation), avec une plus faible chroma étant moins pure (plus délavée, comme dans les pastels). Notez qu’il n’y a pas de limite supérieure intrinsèque à la chrominance. Différentes zones de l’espace colorimétrique ont des coordonnées de chrominance maximales différentes. Par exemple, les couleurs jaunes pâles ont considérablement plus de chrominance potentielle que les violets légers, en raison de la nature de l’œil et de la physique des stimuli de couleur. Cela a conduit à une large gamme de niveaux de chrominance possibles – jusqu’à 30 degrés pour certaines combinaisons de valeurs de teinte (bien qu’il soit difficile ou impossible de créer des objets physiques avec des couleurs aussi élevées, et ne peuvent pas être reproduits sur les écrans actuels) . Les couleurs solides vives sont dans la gamme d’environ 8.

Spécifier une couleur
Une couleur est entièrement spécifiée en listant les trois nombres pour la teinte, la valeur et la chrominance dans cet ordre. Par exemple, un violet de légèreté moyenne et assez saturé serait 5P 5/10 avec 5P signifiant la couleur au milieu de la bande de teinte violette, 5 / signifiant valeur moyenne (légèreté) et une saturation de 10.

Histoire et influence
L’idée d’utiliser un solide couleur tridimensionnel pour représenter toutes les couleurs a été développée au cours des XVIIIe et XIXe siècles. Plusieurs formes différentes pour un tel solide ont été proposées, notamment: une pyramide triangulaire double de Tobias Mayer en 1758, une pyramide triangulaire unique de Johann Heinrich Lambert en 1772, une sphère de Philipp Otto Runge en 1810, un hémisphère de Michel Eugène Chevreul en 1839 , un cône par Hermann von Helmholtz en 1860, un cube incliné par William Benson en 1868, et un double cône incliné par August Kirschmann en 1895. Ces systèmes sont devenus progressivement plus sophistiqués, Kirschmann reconnaissant même la différence de valeur entre les couleurs vives des différents teintes. Mais tous restaient soit purement théoriques, soit rencontraient des problèmes pratiques pour accommoder toutes les couleurs. De plus, aucun n’était fondé sur une mesure scientifique rigoureuse de la vision humaine; Avant Munsell, la relation entre teinte, valeur et chrominance n’était pas comprise.

Albert Munsell, artiste et professeur d’art à la Massachusetts Normal Art School (aujourd’hui Massachussetts College of Art et Design), voulait créer une «manière rationnelle de décrire la couleur» qui utiliserait la notation décimale au lieu de noms de couleurs (qui il se sentait «idiot» et «trompeur»), qu’il pouvait utiliser pour enseigner à ses élèves la couleur. Il a commencé à travailler sur le système en 1898 et l’a publié en pleine forme dans A Color Notation en 1905.

L’incarnation originale du système (l’Atlas de 1905) comportait certaines déficiences en tant que représentation physique du système théorique. Ceux-ci furent considérablement améliorés dans le Livre de Couleurs de Munsell de 1929 et grâce à une série d’expériences menées par la Société Optique d’Amérique dans les années 1940 aboutissant aux notations (définitions d’échantillons) pour le Livre de Couleurs Munsell moderne. Bien que plusieurs systèmes de remplacement aient été inventés pour le système Munsell, en s’appuyant sur les idées fondamentales de Munsell, notamment les échelles de couleurs uniformes de l’Optical Society of America et les modèles de couleurs CIELAB (L * a * b *) et CIECAM02 de la Commission internationale Illumination. est encore largement utilisé, entre autres, par ANSI pour définir les couleurs de peau et de cheveux pour la médecine légale, l’USGS pour les couleurs de sol assorties, en prosthodontie pour le choix des teintes pour les restaurations dentaires et les brasseries pour les couleurs de bières.

Tags:

Munsell color system

In colorimetry, the Munsell color system is a color space that specifies colors based on three color dimensions: hue, value (lightness), and chroma (color purity). It was created by Professor Albert H. Munsell in the first decade of the 20th century and adopted by the USDA as the official color system for soil research in the 1930s.

Several earlier color order systems had placed colors into a three-dimensional color solid of one form or another, but Munsell was the first to separate hue, value, and chroma into perceptually uniform and independent dimensions, and he was the first to systematically illustrate the colors in three-dimensional space. Munsell’s system, particularly the later renotations, is based on rigorous measurements of human subjects’ visual responses to color, putting it on a firm experimental scientific basis. Because of this basis in human visual perception, Munsell’s system has outlasted its contemporary color models, and though it has been superseded for some uses by models such as CIELAB (L*a*b*) and CIECAM02, it is still in wide use today.


The system consists of three independent dimensions which can be represented cylindrically in three dimensions as an irregular color solid: hue, measured by degrees around horizontal circles; chroma, measured radially outward from the neutral (gray) vertical axis; and value, measured vertically from 0 (black) to 10 (white). Munsell determined the spacing of colors along these dimensions by taking measurements of human visual responses. In each dimension, Munsell colors are as close to perceptually uniform as he could make them, which makes the resulting shape quite irregular. As Munsell explains:

Desire to fit a chosen contour, such as the pyramid, cone, cylinder or cube, coupled with a lack of proper tests, has led to many distorted statements of color relations, and it becomes evident, when physical measurement of pigment values and chromas is studied, that no regular contour will serve.

— Albert H. Munsell, “A Pigment Color System and Notation”
Each horizontal circle Munsell divided into five principal hues: Red, Yellow, Green, Blue, and Purple, along with 5 intermediate hues (e.g., YR) halfway between adjacent principal hues. Each of these 10 steps, with the named hue given number 5, is then broken into 10 sub-steps, so that 100 hues are given integer values. In practice, color charts conventionally specify 40 hues, in increments of 2.5, progressing as for example 10R to 2.5YR.

Two colors of equal value and chroma, on opposite sides of a hue circle, are complementary colors, and mix additively to the neutral gray of the same value. The diagram below shows 40 evenly spaced Munsell hues, with complements vertically aligned.

Value, or lightness, varies vertically along the color solid, from black (value 0) at the bottom, to white (value 10) at the top. Neutral grays lie along the vertical axis between black and white.

Several color solids before Munsell’s plotted luminosity from black on the bottom to white on the top, with a gray gradient between them, but these systems neglected to keep perceptual lightness constant across horizontal slices. Instead, they plotted fully saturated yellow (light), and fully saturated blue and purple (dark) along the equator.

Chroma, measured radially from the center of each slice, represents the “purity” of a color (related to saturation), with lower chroma being less pure (more washed out, as in pastels). Note that there is no intrinsic upper limit to chroma. Different areas of the color space have different maximal chroma coordinates. For instance light yellow colors have considerably more potential chroma than light purples, due to the nature of the eye and the physics of color stimuli. This led to a wide range of possible chroma levels—up to the high 30s for some hue–value combinations (though it is difficult or impossible to make physical objects in colors of such high chromas, and they cannot be reproduced on current computer displays). Vivid solid colors are in the range of approximately 8.

Specifying a color
A color is fully specified by listing the three numbers for hue, value, and chroma in that order. For instance, a purple of medium lightness and fairly saturated would be 5P 5/10 with 5P meaning the color in the middle of the purple hue band, 5/ meaning medium value (lightness), and a chroma of 10.

History and influence
The idea of using a three-dimensional color solid to represent all colors was developed during the 18th and 19th centuries. Several different shapes for such a solid were proposed, including: a double triangular pyramid by Tobias Mayer in 1758, a single triangular pyramid by Johann Heinrich Lambert in 1772, a sphere by Philipp Otto Runge in 1810, a hemisphere by Michel Eugène Chevreul in 1839, a cone by Hermann von Helmholtz in 1860, a tilted cube by William Benson in 1868, and a slanted double cone by August Kirschmann in 1895. These systems became progressively more sophisticated, with Kirschmann’s even recognizing the difference in value between bright colors of different hues. But all of them remained either purely theoretical or encountered practical problems in accommodating all colors. Furthermore, none was based on any rigorous scientific measurement of human vision; before Munsell, the relationship between hue, value, and chroma was not understood.

Albert Munsell, an artist and professor of art at the Massachusetts Normal Art School (now Massachusetts College of Art and Design, or MassArt), wanted to create a “rational way to describe color” that would use decimal notation instead of color names (which he felt were “foolish” and “misleading”), which he could use to teach his students about color. He first started work on the system in 1898 and published it in full form in A Color Notation in 1905.

The original embodiment of the system (the 1905 Atlas) had some deficiencies as a physical representation of the theoretical system. These were improved significantly in the 1929 Munsell Book of Color and through an extensive series of experiments carried out by the Optical Society of America in the 1940s resulting in the notations (sample definitions) for the modern Munsell Book of Color. Though several replacements for the Munsell system have been invented, building on Munsell’s foundational ideas—including the Optical Society of America’s Uniform Color Scales, and the International Commission on Illumination’s CIELAB (L*a*b*) and CIECAM02 color models—the Munsell system is still widely used, by, among others, ANSI to define skin and hair colors for forensic pathology, the USGS for matching soil colors, in prosthodontics during the selection of shades for dental restorations, and breweries for matching beer colors.

Source From Wikipedia