Musée napoléonien, Rome, Italie

Le Musée Napoléonien à Rome est un musée historique dédié aux souvenirs napoléoniens, principalement de la collection du Comte Giuseppe Primoli, donnée à la ville de Rome en 1927.

Giuseppe Primoli (1851-1927) était le fils de Carlotta Bonaparte, sa collection comprenait des œuvres d’art et des souvenirs, et a été conçu plus comme un rapport privé que l’histoire familiale comme une collection de reliques historiques. Avec la collection de dons, il a impliqué le rez-de-chaussée de la maison familiale, toujours au centre du musée.

Giuseppe Primoli (1851-1927) était le fils de Carlota Bonaparte et descendait de la famille Bonaparte: Carlota Bonaparte (1832-1901), était en fait la fille de Charles Lucien Bonaparte, prince de Canino (1803-1857), et Zenaida Bonaparte (1801-1854), et eut comme cousins ​​les enfants de deux frères de Napoléon Ier, respectivement Luciano Bonaparte (1775-1840) et José Bonaparte (1768-1844). Carlota a épousé Pietro Primoli, comte de Foglia (1820-1883), en 1848.

Sa collection comprend des œuvres d’art et des souvenirs de famille, et devait être un semblant d’histoire familiale en tant que collection privée de reliques historiques. Avec la collection qu’il a donnée étaient le rez-de-chaussée du palais de famille, qui loge toujours le musée.

Le palais de Primoli a été construit au XVIe siècle et appartenait à la famille Gottifredi jusqu’à la fin du XVIIIe siècle quand il est passé à Filonardi. Il a été acquis par Comte Luigi Primoli, père de Pietro, entre 1820 et 1828. En 1901, Giuseppe Primoli a décidé de faire un remodelage majeur, car il était nécessaire d’avoir été construit sur les rives du Tibre et le pont Umberto I, qui reliait à la rue Nicola Zanardelli. Le projet a été confié à l’architecte Raffaele Ojetti: les travaux ont duré jusqu’en 1911 lorsque l’ancienne façade a été démolie et remplacée par une loggia, le bâtiment a été planifié et une nouvelle entrée monumentale a été construite dans la rue Zanardelli.

Le Palais abrite la Fondation Primoli, créée par Giuseppe Primoli, et la Bibliothèque Primoli, qui abrite environ 30 000 volumes. C’est aussi le siège des bureaux auxiliaires du Musée Mario Praz de la Galerie Nationale d’Art Moderne.

La collection du musée est divisée en trois sections distinctes, qui comprennent:

La période napoléonienne elle-même, représentée par de grandes peintures et bustes des plus importants artistes de l’époque illustrant de nombreux membres de la famille impériale, et utilisé différents styles de manoir et conventionnel,
La période dite “romaine”, de la chute de Napoléon Ier à la naissance de Napoléon III;
La période du Second Empire français, avec des peintures, des sculptures, des gravures, des meubles et de l’art de l’époque.
La distribution actuelle du musée est le résultat de la rénovation récente des salles et reflète en termes généraux les instructions laissées par Giuseppe Primoli. Chambres conservées dans plusieurs pièces avec des plafonds peints dans le style du 18ème siècle, tandis que la décoration le long des murs des chambres VIII, IX, X remonte au début du XIXe siècle, lorsque le palais était déjà la propriété de Primoli. Les frises des Hall III et V, avec l’héraldique du «lion rampant» de Primoli et de «l’aigle» de Bonaparte, illustrent le mariage de Pietro Primoli et de Carlota Bonaparte.

Le peintre américain Chaim Koppelman a fait de nombreux travaux sur Napoléon. Une exposition rétrospective de plus de quatre-vingts œuvres et études sur Napoléon a eu lieu au Musée Napoléonien à Rome (du 11 octobre 2011 au 6 mai 2012), intitulée Napoléon entrant à New York: Chaim Koppelman et l’Empereur, Works 1957 -2007 ( Napoléon entrant à New York: Chaim Koppelman et l’Empereur, œuvres de 1957 à 2007), y compris des peintures, pastels, dessins, collages, aquarelles, héliogravure, linoléum, et d’autres œuvres de l’artiste sur papier. L’exposition incluait même des extraits d’un article d’Eli Siegel en 1951: Napoléon Bonaparte ou Ordained Energy (Napoléon Bonaparte: ou, Orderly Energy), qui avait aidé Koppelman et qu’il attribue à avoir inspiré une grande partie du travail.

la véritable période napoléonienne, témoignée par de grands tableaux et bustes des plus grands artistes de l’époque, dépeignant dans des poses majestueuses et conventionnelles de nombreux membres de la famille impériale;
la période dite “romaine”, de la chute de Napoléon Ier à Napoléon III;
la période du Second Empire, avec des peintures, des sculptures, des gravures, des meubles, des objets d’art, tout le temps.
La disposition actuelle du musée, résultat de la restauration récente des salles, reflète largement les instructions laissées par Giuseppe Primoli. Les environnements conservés dans certaines pièces du plafond du XVIIIe siècle peints poutres, tandis que les frises qui courent le long des murs des chambres VIII, IX, X remontent au début du XIXe siècle, lorsque le palais était déjà détenue par le Primoli. La décoration de la salle III et V, comme indiqué par le “lion rampant” du Primoli et “aigle” de Bonaparte, sont postérieures au mariage de Pietro Primoli à Carlotta Bonaparte.

En 1927, le comte Giuseppe Primoli (1851-1927), fils du comte Pietro Primoli et de la princesse Carlotta Bonaparte, fait don de son importante collection d’œuvres d’art, de reliques napoléoniennes et de souvenirs de famille recueillis au rez-de-chaussée de son palais. ville de Rome. La collection, qui avait aussi absorbé des objets appartenant à son frère Luigi (1858-1925), ne provenait pas tant du désir de témoigner de la splendeur impériale que de la volonté de documenter la relation étroite entre les Bonaparte. et Rome. Ces liens ont été établis avec la force militaire en 1808, après l’occupation française de Rome. En 1809, la ville devint «la ville libre et impériale», destinée à être gouvernée par le fils de Napoléon, à qui fut conféré, avant même sa naissance, le titre de roi de Rome.

Par la suite, après la chute de l’Empire, presque toute la famille Bonaparte demanda l’asile au pape Pie VII et vint s’établir à Rome: Letizia Ramolino, mère de Napoléon, Palazzo Rinuccini, ses frères Luigi et Girolamo, Palazzo Mancini Salviati et Palazzo Nuñez respectivement, et sa soeur Pauline dans sa villa sur Nomentana.
Mais le véritable fondateur de la «branche romaine» des Bonaparte, d’où descendit le comte Primoli, était le frère «rebelle» de l’empereur, Luciano, qui, en 1804, en opposition ouverte à Napoléon, s’installa à Rome.

La mère du Comte Primoli, Carlotta Bonaparte, est née du mariage d’un des fils de Luciano, Carlo Luciano, avec sa cousine Zenaide, la fille de Joseph Bonaparte. Carlotta épousa le comte Pietro Primoli en 1848 et, immédiatement après la proclamation du Second Empire, elle déménagea, avec sa famille, à la cour de Napoléon III. Le comte Giuseppe Primoli fut donc éduqué à Paris, même après la chute de l’Empire, dans les saillies littéraires de sa Matilde Bonaparte et de Giulia Bonaparte, la Marchesa de Roccagiovine.

Homme cultivé, passionné de livres et photographe talentueux, Giuseppe Primoli vécut entre Rome et Paris et fut étroitement associé aux cercles littéraires et artistiques des deux villes. Il était donc un personnage intellectuel intéressant et un collectionneur qui, grâce à d’importants dons familiaux et à des acquisitions savantes sur les marchés d’antiquités, a pu offrir à la ville de Rome cet élégant exemple de maison-musée.

Tags:

Museo Napoleonico, Roma, Italy

The Napoleonic Museum in Rome is a historical museum dedicated to Napoleonic memorabilia, mainly from the Count Giuseppe Primoli collection, donated to the city of Rome in 1927.

Giuseppe Primoli (1851-1927) was the son of Carlotta Bonaparte, his collection included works of art and memorabilia, and was conceived more as a private report that family history as a collection of historical relics. Along with the donation collection he involved the ground floor of the family home, still center of the museum.

Giuseppe Primoli (1851-1927) was the son of Carlota Bonaparte and descended from the Bonaparte family: Carlota Bonaparte (1832-1901), in fact, was the daughter of Charles Lucien Bonaparte, prince of Canino (1803-1857), and Zenaida Bonaparte (1801-1854), and had as cousins ​​the children of two brothers of Napoleon I, respectively Luciano Bonaparte (1775-1840) and Jose Bonaparte (1768-1844). Carlota married Pietro Primoli, Count of Foglia (1820-1883), in 1848.

His collection includes works of art and family memories, and was intended to be as a semblance of family history as a private collection of historical relics. Along with the collection he donated were the ground floor of the family palace, which still houses the museum.

The Primoli Palace was built in the sixteenth century and was owned by the Gottifredi family until the late eighteenth century when it passed to Filonardi. It was acquired by Count Luigi Primoli, father of Pietro, between 1820 and 1828. In 1901 Giuseppe Primoli decided to make a major remodeling, since it was necessary to have been built on the banks of the Tiber and the Umberto I bridge, which connected to the street Nicola Zanardelli. The project was commissioned to the architect Raffaele Ojetti: the works lasted until 1911 when the old facade was demolished and replaced by a loggia, the building was planned and a new monumental entrance was constructed in the street Zanardelli.

The Palace is home to the Primoli Foundation, created by Giuseppe Primoli as well, and the Primoli Library, which houses about 30 000 volumes. It is also the headquarters of the auxiliary offices of the Mario Praz Museum of the National Gallery of Modern Art.

The museum’s collection is divided into three distinct sections, which include:

The Napoleonic period itself, represented by large paintings and busts of the most important artists of the time illustrating numerous members of the imperial family, and used different styles of manorial and conventional,
The so-called “Roman” period, from the fall of Napoleon I to the rise of Napoleon III;
The period of the Second French Empire, with paintings, sculptures, engravings, furniture and art of the time.
The current distribution of the museum is the result of the recent renovation of the rooms and reflects in general terms the instructions left by Giuseppe Primoli. Rooms preserved in several rooms with ceilings painted in 18th century style, while the decoration along the walls of the rooms VIII, IX, X date back to the early nineteenth century, when the palace was already owned by Primoli. The friezes in Hall III and V, with the heraldry of Primoli’s “rampant lion” and Bonaparte’s “eagle”, illustrate the marriage of Pietro Primoli and Carlota Bonaparte.

The American painter Chaim Koppelman did many works on Napoleon. A retrospective exhibition of more than eighty works and studies on Napoleon was held at the Napoleonic Museum in Rome (from October 11, 2011 until May 6, 2012), titled Napoleon Entering New York: Chaim Koppelman and the Emperor, Works 1957 -2007 (Napoleon entering New York: Chaim Koppelman and the Emperor, works from 1957 to 2007), including paintings, pastels, drawings, collages, watercolors, rotogravure, linoleum, and other works of the artist on paper. The exhibition even included selections from a paper by Eli Siegel in 1951: Napoleon Bonaparte or Ordained Energy (Napoleon Bonaparte: or, Orderly Energy), who had assisted Koppelman and whom he attributes to having inspired much of the work.

the true Napoleonic period, testified by great paintings and busts of the greatest artists of the time, portraying in stately, conventional poses numerous members of the imperial family;
the so-called “Roman” period, from the fall of Napoleon I rise of Napoleon III;
the period of the Second Empire, with paintings, sculptures, engravings, furniture, objects d’art, all the time.
The present layout of the museum, the result of recent restoration of rooms, broadly reflects the instructions left by Giuseppe Primoli. The environments preserved in some rooms of the eighteenth-century ceiling painted beams, while the friezes that run along the walls of rooms VIII, IX, X date back to the early nineteenth century, when the palace was already owned by the Primoli. The decoration of the room III and V, as indicated by the “lion rampant” of the Primoli and “eagle” of Bonaparte, are subsequent to the marriage of Pietro Primoli to Carlotta Bonaparte.

In 1927 Count Giuseppe Primoli (1851-1927), the son of Count Pietro Primoli and Princess Carlotta Bonaparte, donated his important collection of works of art, Napoleonic relics, and family mementos, all collected in the ground floor of his Palazzo, to the city of Rome. The collection, which had also absorbed some objects belonging to his brother Luigi (1858-1925), had come into existence not so much from the wish to bear witness to the imperial splendour, as from a desire to document the close relationship between the Bonapartes and Rome. These links were establishes with military force in 1808, after the French occupation of Rome. In 1809 the city became “the free and imperial city”, destined to be governed by Napoleon’s son, on whom was conferred, even before he was born, the title of the King of Rome.

Subsequently, after the fall of the Empire, almost all of the Bonaparte family asked asylum of Pope Pius VII, and came to settle in Rome: Napoleon’s mother, Letizia Ramolino, in Palazzo Rinuccini, his brothers Luigi and Girolamo in Palazzo Mancini Salviati and Palazzo Nuñez respectively, and his sister Pauline in her villa on Nomentana.
But the true founder of the “Roman branch” of the Bonapartes, from whom Count Primoli was descended, was the emperor’s “rebel” brother Luciano, who, in 1804, in open opposition to Napoleon, moved to Rome.

Count Primoli’s mother, Carlotta Bonaparte, was born from the marriage of one of Luciano’s sons, Carlo Luciano, to his cousin Zenaide, the daughter of Joseph Bonaparte. Carlotta married Count Pietro Primoli in 1848 and, immediately after the proclamation of the Second Empire, she moved, with her family, to the court of Napoleon the IIIrd. Count Giuseppe Primoli was therefore educated in Paris, even after the fall of the Empire, in the literary salones of his Matilde Bonaparte and Giulia Bonaparte, the Marchesa of Roccagiovine.

A cultured man, passionately interested in books, and a talented photographer, Giuseppe Primoli lived between Rome and Paris, and was closely involved with the literary and artistic circles in both cities. He was, therefore, an interesting intellectual figure and collector, who, through important family gifts and knowledgable acquisitions on the antiques markets, was able to offer the city of Rome this elegant example of a museum-house

Tags: