سلفادور دالي

سلفادور دومينغو فيليبي جاسينتو دالي دومينيك، ماركيس دي دالي دي بوبول، المعروف رسميا باسم سلفادور دالي (11 مايو 1904 – 23 يناير 1989)، كان فنان سريالي اسباني بارز ولد في فيغيرز، كاتالونيا، اسبانيا

كان دالي درافتسمان مهرة، اشتهر بالصور المذهلة والغريبة في عمله السريالي وغالبا ما تعزى مهاراته الرسامية لتأثير أساتذة عصر النهضة وقد اكتمل عمله المعروف، ثبات الذاكرة، في آب / أغسطس 1931 دالي الموسوعة الفنية الموسعة وشملت الفيلم، والنحت، والتصوير الفوتوغرافي، بالتعاون مع مجموعة من الفنانين في مجموعة متنوعة من وسائل الإعلام

وعزا دالي “حب كل ما هو مذهب ومفرط، شغفي بالترف وحب الملابس الشرقية” إلى “النسب العربية”، مدعيا أن أسلافه ينحدرون من مورس

كان دالي خيال للغاية، كما تمتع بالانغماس في سلوك غير عادي ومذهل كان أسلوبه غريب الأطوار واهتمامه بالانتخابات العامة في بعض الأحيان لفت الانتباه أكثر من عمله الفني، إلى فزع أولئك الذين احتفظوا بعمله في تقدير كبير، وتهيج له النقاد

دالي يستخدم رمزية واسعة في عمله على سبيل المثال، السمة المميزة “ذوبان الساعات” التي تظهر لأول مرة في ثبات الذاكرة تشير إلى نظرية أينشتاين أن الوقت نسبي وغير ثابت فكرة عن الساعات تعمل رمزيا بهذه الطريقة جاء إلى دالي عندما كان يحدق أداة تعريف إنجليزية غير معروفة، سيلان، إنكسر، بسبب، كاممبرت، جبن، عن، أداة تعريف إنجليزية غير معروفة، حار، آب، داي

الفيل هو أيضا صورة متكررة في أعمال دالي ظهر في عمله عام 1944 حلم ناجم عن رحلة النحل حول الرمان الثانية قبل الصحوة الفيلة، مستوحاة من قاعدة النحت جيان لورينزو بيرنيني في روما من فيل يحمل مسلة القديمة ، يتم تصويرها “مع طويلة، متعددة الأوجه، الساقين غير مرئية تقريبا من الرغبة” جنبا إلى جنب مع المسلات على ظهورهم إلى جانب صورة ساقهم هشة، هذه الأعباء، لاحظت ل أوبتونيز بهم، خلق شعور بالواقع الوهمية “الفيل هو التشويه في الفضاء “، يفسر تحليل واحد،” ساقيه المغزل المتناقضة فكرة انعدام الوزن مع هيكل “” أنا اللوحة الصور التي تجعلني يموت من أجل الفرح، وأنا خلق مع الطبيعة المطلقة، دون أدنى اهتمام جمالي، وأنا صنع الأشياء التي تلهمني مع مشاعر عميقة وأنا أحاول أن أرسم لهم بصراحة “-Salvador Dalí، في فجر اديس، دالي والسريالية

البيضة هي صورة داليسك شائعة أخرى يربط البيض إلى ما قبل الولادة وداخل الرحم، وبالتالي استخدامه لترمز الأمل والحب. يبدو في الاستمناء العظيم و تحول نارسيسوس تحول نرجس أيضا ترمز الموت و التريخ وهناك أيضا التماثيل العملاقة من البيض في مواقع مختلفة في منزل دالي في بورت ليغات وكذلك في مسرح ومتحف دالي في فيغيرز

العديد من الحيوانات الأخرى تظهر في جميع أنحاء عمله أيضا: النمل يشير إلى الموت، الاضمحلال، والرغبة الجنسية الهائلة. ويرتبط الحلزون برأس الإنسان (رأى حلزونا على دراجة خارج منزل فرويد عندما التقى لأول مرة سيغموند فرويد)؛ والجراد رمزا للنفايات والخوف

كل من دالي ووالده استمتعوا بتناول قنافذ البحر، واشتعلوا حديثا في البحر بالقرب من كاداكيس التماثل شعاعي من قنفذ البحر فتنت Dalí، وتكييفه شكلها للعديد من الأعمال الفنية وتظهر أيضا الأطعمة الأخرى في جميع أنحاء عمله

إن الإشارات إلى دالي في سياق العلم تتم من خلال سحره مع التحول النموذجي الذي رافق ولادة الميكانيك الكمومي في القرن العشرين مستوحى من مبدأ عدم اليقين من فيرنر هيزنبرغ، في عام 1958 كتب في كتابه “بيان مضاد للمادة”: “في الفترة السريالية، أردت أن أقوم بتصوير الأيقونات للعالم الداخلي والعالم الرائع، من والدي فرويد اليوم، العالم الخارجي والفيزياء تجاوزت أحد علم النفس والدي اليوم هو الدكتور هيزنبرغ”

وفي هذا الصدد، يلخص تفكك ثبات الذاكرة، الذي ظهر في عام 1954، في العودة إلى ثبات الذاكرة وفي تصوير تلك اللوحة في التفتيت والتفكك، اعتراف دالي بالعلم الجديد

دالي كان فنانا تنوعا بعض أعماله الأكثر شعبية هي التماثيل وغيرها من الأشياء، ويلاحظ أيضا لمساهماته في المسرح والأزياء والتصوير الفوتوغرافي، من بين مجالات أخرى

المنحوتات وغيرها من الأشياء:

كان من أكثر الأشياء شعبية في الحركة السريالية هاتف “لوبستر” و “ماي ويست ليبس سوفا”، الذي أنجزه دالي في عامي 1936 و 1937، على التوالي، بتكليف كل من هذه القطع من دالي، وقد ورث جيمس عقارا إنكليزيا كبيرا في ويست دين في غرب ساسكس عندما كان في الخامسة من عمره وكان واحدا من أهم مؤيدي السرياليين في الثلاثينيات من القرن العشرين “كان لوبسترس والهواتف دلالات جنسية قوية ل [دالي]”، وفقا للتعليق التوضيحي جراد البحر الهاتف في معرض تاتي “، ووجه تشابه وثيق بين الغذاء والجنس” كان الهاتف يعمل، وجيمس اشترى أربعة منهم من دالي ليحل محل الهواتف في منزله العودة واحدة الآن يظهر في معرض تاتي. والثانية يمكن العثور عليها في متحف الهاتف الألماني في فرانكفورت. والثالث ينتمي إلى مؤسسة إدوارد جيمس؛ والرابع هو في المعرض الوطني في أستراليا

وقد شكلت الخشب والساتان صوفا مي ويست الشفاه بعد شفاه الممثلة مي ويست، الذي دالي على ما يبدو وجدت الغرب رائعة كان سابقا موضوع دالي 1935 اللوحة وجه ماي ويست أريكة ماي الغربية الشفاه يقيم حاليا في متحف برايتون وهوف في انجلترا

بين عامي 1941 و 1970، أنشأت دالي مجموعة من 39 قطعة من المجوهرات. العديد من القطع هي معقدة، وبعضها يحتوي على أجزاء متحركة التجمع الأكثر شهرة، و القلب الملكي، مصنوع من الذهب و هو مرصع مع 46 الياقوت، 42 الماس، وأربعة الزمرد، التي أنشئت في مثل هذه الطريقة أن مركز “يدق” يشبه إلى حد كبير قلب حقيقي قال دالي نفسه: “بدون جمهور، من دون وجود متفرجين، فإن هذه المجوهرات لن تفي بالوظيفة التي جاءت إلى حيز الوجود المشاهد، ثم، هو الفنان النهائي” و “دالي – جويز” (” جواهر دالي “) يمكن مشاهدتها في متحف مسرح دالي في فيغيرز، كاتالونيا، إسبانيا، حيث تكون في معرض دائم

أخذ دالي طعنة في التصميم الصناعي في 1970s مع تشغيل 500 قطعة من أدوات المائدة سومي الراقي من قبل تيمو ساربانيفا أن دالي مزينة لصانع روزنثال الخزف الألماني “استوديو ليني”

المسرح والسينما:

في المسرح، شيد دالي مشهد مسرحية فيديريكو غارسيا لوركا 1927 الرومانسية ماريانا بينيدا فور باشانال (1939)، والباليه على أساس وموسيقى الموسيقى لأوبرا ريتشارد فاغنر عام 1845 تانهوسر، قدم دالي كل من تصميم مجموعة و ليبريتو باشانيل من خلال مجموعة تصاميم لمتاهة في عام 1941 وقبعة ثلاثة زوايا في عام 1949

أصبح دالي مهتما بشكل مكثف بالسينما عندما كان صغيرا، وذهب إلى المسرح معظم أيام الأحد كان جزءا من العصر الذي كانت فيه الأفلام الصامتة ينظر إليها، واستفادت من فيلم الفيلم أصبح شعبيا يعتقد أنه كان هناك بعدان لنظريات الفيلم و السينما: “الأشياء نفسها”، والحقائق التي يتم عرضها في العالم من الكاميرا. و “خيال التصوير الفوتوغرافي”، والطريقة التي تظهر بها الكاميرا الصورة وكيف تبدو خلاقة أو خيالية دالي كانت نشطة أمام و خلف الكواليس في عالم السينما

وينسب إليه الفضل في إنشاء فيلم لويس أونيل السريالي أون شين أندالو، وهو فيلم سريالي فرنسي مدته 17 دقيقة شارك في كتابته مع لويس بونويل الذي يتذكر على نطاق واسع في مشهده الافتتاحي الذي يحاكي مقلاع العينين بشفرة الحلاقة هذا الفيلم هو ما يعرفه دالي في عالم الفيلم المستقل أون شيان أندالو كان طريق دالي لخلق صفاته الحلم في العالم الحقيقي سوف تتغير الصور وسوف تتحول المشاهد، مما يؤدي المشاهد في اتجاه مختلف تماما عن تلك التي كانوا يشاهدونها سابقا وكان الفيلم الثاني الذي أنتجه مع بونويل بعنوان L’إيدج d’أور، وكان أداء في ستوديو 28 في باريس في عام 1930 “ليد d’أور” كان محظورا لسنوات بعد أن نظمت مجموعات فاشية ومعادية للسامية قنبلة نتن والحبر – إغراق أعمال الشغب في مسرح باريس حيث تم عرض ”

على الرغم من أن الجوانب السلبية للمجتمع تم طرحها في حياة دالي التي أثرت على النجاح التجاري لأعماله الفنية، إلا أنها لم تعيقه عن التعبير عن أفكاره ومعتقداته الخاصة في فنه كل من هذه الأفلام، أون شين أندالو و L’إيدج d’أور، كان له تأثير هائل على الحركة السينمائية السريالية المستقلة “إذا كان أون شين أندالو يقف على أنه السجل الأسمى للمغامرات السريالية في عالم اللاوعي، فإن L’Âge d’أور ربما يكون التعبير الأكثر تعبيرا و إمبلاسابل من نواياها الثورية ”

كان دالي يعمل مع صانعي أفلام مشهورين آخرين، مثل ألفريد هيتشكوك من المعروف أن أشهر مشاريعه السينمائية هو تسلسل الحلم في هيتشكوك’s سبلبوند، الذي يتجلى بشكل كبير في مواضيع التحليل النفسي يحتاج هيتشكوك إلى جودة دريمليكية لفيلمه الذي تناول الفكرة أن تجربة قمع يمكن أن تؤدي مباشرة إلى عصاب، وكان يعلم أن عمل دالي من شأنه أن يساعد على خلق الجو الذي أراد في فيلمه كما عمل على فيلم وثائقي يسمى الفوضى والإبداع، والتي لديها الكثير من المراجع الفنية التي ألقيت في ذلك لمساعدة واحدة انظر ما رؤية دالي للفن هو حقا

عملت دالي أيضا مع والت ديزني على إنتاج الفيلم القصير ديستينو أنجز في عام 2003 من قبل بيكر بلودورث و ابن أخ والت روي روي ديزني، أنه يحتوي على صور أحلام من شخصيات غريبة تحلق والمشي حول ويستند ذلك على أغنية المكسيكي أرماندو دومينغيز أغنية “ديستينو” عندما ديزني استأجرت دالي للمساعدة في إنتاج الفيلم في عام 1946، لم تكن مستعدة لكمية من العمل التي تنتظرنا لمدة ثمانية أشهر، وأنها عملت على ذلك بشكل مستمر، حتى كانت جهودهم لوقف عندما أدركوا أنهم في ورطة مالية ومع ذلك، فإنه في نهاية المطاف بعد 48 عاما، ويظهر في مختلف المهرجانات السينمائية الفيلم يتكون من الأعمال الفنية دالي التفاعل مع الرسوم المتحركة ديزني الطابع

أنجز دالي فيلم واحد آخر فقط في حياته، انطباعات منغوليا العليا (1975)، حيث روى قصة عن حملة بحثية عن الفطر المهلوس العملاق استندت الصور على بقع حمض اليوريك المجهرية على الشريط النحاسي من قلم الحبر الذي كان دالي يتابعه لعدة أسابيع

في منتصف السبعينيات، ألقى المخرج السينمائي أليخاندرو جودوروفسكي دالي دور الإمبراطور باديشا في إنتاج ديون، استنادا إلى رواية فرانك هربرت وفقا للوثائق الوثائقية لعام 2013 عن فيلم جودوروفسكي ديون، التقى جودوروفسكي دالي في الملك كول بار في فندق سانت ريجيس في مانهاتن لمناقشة دور دالي أعرب عن اهتمامه بالفيلم ولكن المطلوب كشرط لتظهر أنه جعل الممثل الأعلى أجرا في هوليوود جودوروفسكي وفقا لذلك يلقي دالي كإمبراطور، لكنه خطط لقطع دالي وقت الشاشة لمجرد دقائق، واعدا انه الممثل الأعلى أجرا على أساس في الدقيقة الواحدة الفيلم في نهاية المطاف أبدا

في عام 1927، بدأ دالي في كتابة ليبرتو لأوبرا، وهو ما أسماه Être ديو (ليكون الله) وكتب هذا جنبا إلى جنب مع فيديريكو غارسيا لورسا بعد ظهر يوم واحد في مقهى ريجينا فيكتوريا في مدريد في عام 1974، للتسجيل في باريس ، تم تعديل الأوبرا من قبل الكاتب الإسباني مانويل فازكيز مونتالبان، الذي كتب ليبريتو، في حين أن الموسيقى التي تم إنشاؤها من قبل إيغور واكيفيتش أثناء التسجيل، ومع ذلك، رفض دالي لمتابعة النص الذي كتبه مونتالبان، وبدلا من ذلك، بدأ الارتجال في الاعتقاد بأن “سلفادور دالي لم يكرر نفسه”

الأزياء والتصوير الفوتوغرافي:

قام دالي ببناء ذخيرة في شركات الأزياء والتصوير الفوتوغرافي وكذلك تعاونه مع مصمم الأزياء الإيطالي إلسا شياباريلي كان معروفا، عندما كلف دالي لإنتاج فستان أبيض مع جراد البحر طباعة تصاميم أخرى دالي صنع لها تشمل قبعة على شكل حذاء ، وحزام وردي مع الشفاه لمشبك كما شارك في خلق تصاميم النسيج وزجاجات العطور في عام 1950، دالي خلق “زي خاص لعام 2045” مع كريستيان ديور

المصورين الذين تعاون معهم تشمل مان راي، براساي، سيسيل بيتون، و فيليب هالسمان مع رجل راي و Brassaï، دالي تصوير الطبيعة؛ مع مجموعة أخرى من المواضيع، بما في ذلك (مع هالسمان) دالي أتوميكا سلسلة (1948) – مستوحاة من اللوحة له ليدا أتوميكا – والتي في صورة واحدة تصور “الحامل الرسام، ثلاثة قطط، دلو من الماء، و دالي نفسه العائمة في الهواء ”

واحدة من أكثر الإبداعات الفنية غير التقليدية دالي قد تكون شخصية كاملة، بالإضافة إلى بلده في ملهى ليلي فرنسي في عام 1965، التقى دالي أماندا لير، وهو نموذج الأزياء ثم عرف باسم بيكي D’أوسلو لير أصبح بروتيجي و موس، الكتابة في وقت لاحق عن حياتهم في سيرة حياتها المأذون بها حياتي مع دالي (1986) ترانسفكسد من قبل مانش، لير أكبر من الحياة، دالي مدبر انتقالها الناجح من النمذجة إلى عالم الموسيقى، وتقديم المشورة لها على العرض الذاتي ومساعدة تدور القصص الغامضة حول أصلها كما أنها أخذت المشهد الديسكو الفن من قبل العاصفة وفقا لير، وقالت انها ودالي متحدة في “الزواج الروحي” على قمة جبل مهجورة كان يشار إليها باسم “فرانكشتاين” دالي، ويعتقد بعض المراقبين لير الاسم المفترض كان (إيزابيل كولين دوفريسن)، الذي غادر جانب دالي للانضمام إلى مصنع أندي وارهول

في 10 أبريل / نيسان 2005، انضموا إلى حلقة نقاش بعنوان “ذكريات دالي: محادثة مع أصدقاء الفنان” كجزء من ندوة “نهضة دالي” ل عرض دالى بأثر رجعي كبير في متحف فيلادلفيا للفنون يتم تسجيل حديثهم في كتالوج معرض 236 صفحة عصر النهضة دالي: وجهات نظر جديدة عن حياته وفنه بعد عام 1940

هندسة معمارية:

وتشمل الإنجازات المعمارية منزله بورت ليغات بالقرب من كاداكيس، فضلا عن مسرحه ومتحفه في فيغيرز وكان العمل الرئيسي خارج اسبانيا الحلم المؤقت من الزهرة جناح السريالية في معرض نيويورك 1939 العالمي، الذي يتضمن فيه عدد من التماثيل غير عادية والتماثيل، بما في ذلك الأداء الحي الذي يمثل التماثيل

أعمال أدبية:

وبفضل التشجيع من الشاعر فيديريكو غارسيا لوركا، حاول دالي نهجا في مسيرته الأدبية من خلال وسائل “الرواية الخالصة”. في روايته الوحيدة للوجوه الخفية (1944)، يصف دالي، من الناحية البصرية بشكل واضح، المؤامرات وشؤون الحب وهي مجموعة من الأرستقراطيين المبهرين وغير المتجولين الذين يرمزون إلى نمط انحطاط الثلاثينيات من القرن العشرين، و “كومانت دي غراندسايس” و “سولانج دي كليدا”، وهم يتابعون علاقة حب محرجة، ولكن صفقات الملكية، والاضطرابات السياسية بين الحربين، والمقاومة الفرنسية، إلى امرأة أخرى ومسؤولياتها كملاك للأراضي ورجل أعمال يميزها في باريس، فرنسا الريفية، الدار البيضاء في شمال أفريقيا، بالم سبرينغز في الولايات المتحدة. وتشمل الشخصيات الثانوية الأرملة المسنين باربرا روجرز، ابنتها ثنائية الجنس فيرونيكا، فيرونيكا في وقت ما محبة الإناث بيتكا، وبابا، مشوه الطيار مقاتلة الولايات المتحدة تختتم الرواية في نهاية الحرب العالمية الثانية، مع سولانج يموت قبل أن يعود غراندسيلس إلى ممتلكاته السابقة ويجتمع معها الرواية كتبت في نيويورك وترجمها هاكون شوفالييه

وتشمل أعماله الأدبية غير الخيالية الأخرى الحياة السرية لسلفادور دالي (1942)، ومذكرات عبقرية (1952-63)، وأوي: ثورة المذابح الحرجة (1927-33)

الفنون التصويرية:

عمل الفنان على نطاق واسع في الفنون التصويرية، وإنتاج العديد من النقش والطباعة الحجرية في حين أن عمله في وقت مبكر في الطباعة متساوية في الجودة لرسوماته الهامة، كما انه كبار السن انه يبيع الحق في الصور ولكن لا تشارك في إنتاج الطباعة نفسها في بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تم إنتاج عدد كبير من المنتجات المقلدة في الثمانينيات والتسعينات، مما زاد من إرباك سوق الطباعة في دالي

شهره اعلاميه:

بعد وصوله إلى الولايات المتحدة، شارك دالي في الترويج الذاتي الثقيل في وقت لاحق، وأعرب المدير التنفيذي لمتحف دالي هانك هاين عن تقديره “الترويج الذاتي بارعة” خلال معرض فر 2016 ديزني و Dalí: المهندسين المعماريين من الخيال في حين أن العديد من الأعمال المثيرة له التي ينظر إليها على أنها أنتيكس من قبل النقاد الفن في ذلك الوقت، وأنها تفسرت في وقت لاحق على أنه أداء

وضعه كفنانة باهظة وضعت لاستخدامها في العديد من الحملات الدعائية لانفان الشوكولاتة، “إذا كنت حصلت عليه، تماوج ذلك!” لخطوط برانيف الدولية (1968)، و الخطوط الجوية الإيبيرية

ميراث:

في سيرة كارلوس لوزانو، الجنس، السريالية، دالي، وأنا، التي تنتج بالتعاون مع كليفورد ثورلو، لوزانو يجعل من الواضح أن Dalí أبدا توقف عن كونه سريالية كما قال دالي نفسه: “الفرق الوحيد بيني وبين السرياليين هو أن انا سريالية ”

وقد استشهد سلفادور دالي بأنه مصدر إلهام كبير من قبل العديد من الفنانين الحديثين مثل داميان هيرست وجيف كونس ومعظم السريلاليين الحديثين سلفادور دالي في التعبير الهوس والشارب الشهير جعلوه شيئا من رمز ثقافي للغريب وسريالية وقد كان (2008)، و أدريان برودي في منتصف الليل في باريس (2011)، كما تم تصويره في سلسلة من لوحات الرسم على الكابتن كانغارو باسم “سلفادور سخيفة” (الذي لعبه كوزمو أليجريتي) وفي شارع سمسم العرائس المتحركة كما “سلفادور دادا” (الذهب البرتقالي أي شيء الدمى التي يؤديها جيم هنسون)

الحفرة دالي على كوكب عطارد هو المسمى له

Salvador Dali

Salvador Domingo Felipe Jacinto Dalí i Domènech, Marqués de Dalí de Púbol, known professionally as Salvador Dalí (May 11, 1904 – Jan 23, 1989), was a prominent Spanish surrealist artist born in Figueres, Catalonia, Spain

Dalí was a skilled draftsman, best known for the striking and bizarre images in his surrealist work His painterly skills are often attributed to the influence of Renaissance masters His best-known work, The Persistence of Memory, was completed in August 1931 Dalí’s expansive artistic repertoire included film, sculpture, and photography, in collaboration with a range of artists in a variety of media

Dalí attributed his “love of everything that is gilded and excessive, my passion for luxury and my love of oriental clothes” to an “Arab lineage”, claiming that his ancestors were descended from the Moors

Dalí was highly imaginative, and also enjoyed indulging in unusual and grandiose behavior His eccentric manner and attention-grabbing public actions sometimes drew more attention than his artwork, to the dismay of those who held his work in high esteem, and to the irritation of his critics

Dalí employed extensive symbolism in his work For instance, the hallmark “melting watches” that first appear in The Persistence of Memory suggest Einstein’s theory that time is relative and not fixed The idea for clocks functioning symbolically in this way came to Dalí when he was staring at a runny piece of Camembert cheese on a hot August day

The elephant is also a recurring image in Dalí’s works It appeared in his 1944 work Dream Caused by the Flight of a Bee Around a Pomegranate a Second Before Awakening The elephants, inspired by Gian Lorenzo Bernini’s sculpture base in Rome of an elephant carrying an ancient obelisk, are portrayed “with long, multijointed, almost invisible legs of desire” along with obelisks on their backs Coupled with the image of their brittle legs, these encumbrances, noted for their phallic overtones, create a sense of phantom reality “The elephant is a distortion in space”, one analysis explains, “its spindly legs contrasting the idea of weightlessness with structure” “I am painting pictures which make me die for joy, I am creating with an absolute naturalness, without the slightest aesthetic concern, I am making things that inspire me with a profound emotion and I am trying to paint them honestly” —Salvador Dalí, in Dawn Ades, Dalí and Surrealism

The egg is another common Dalíesque image He connects the egg to the prenatal and intrauterine, thus using it to symbolize hope and love; it appears in The Great Masturbator and The Metamorphosis of Narcissus The Metamorphosis of Narcissus also symbolized death and petrification There are also giant sculptures of eggs in various locations at Dalí’s house in Port Lligat as well as at the Dalí Theatre and Museum in Figueres

Various other animals appear throughout his work as well: ants point to death, decay, and immense sexual desire; the snail is connected to the human head (he saw a snail on a bicycle outside Freud’s house when he first met Sigmund Freud); and locusts are a symbol of waste and fear

Both Dalí and his father enjoyed eating sea urchins, freshly caught in the sea near Cadaqués The radial symmetry of the sea urchin fascinated Dalí, and he adapted its form to many art works Other foods also appear throughout his work

References to Dalí in the context of science are made in terms of his fascination with the paradigm shift that accompanied the birth of quantum mechanics in the twentieth century Inspired by Werner Heisenberg’s uncertainty principle, in 1958 he wrote in his “Anti-Matter Manifesto”: “In the Surrealist period, I wanted to create the iconography of the interior world and the world of the marvelous, of my father Freud Today, the exterior world and that of physics has transcended the one of psychology My father today is Dr Heisenberg”

In this respect, The Disintegration of the Persistence of Memory, which appeared in 1954, in harking back to The Persistence of Memory and in portraying that painting in fragmentation and disintegration, summarizes Dalí’s acknowledgment of the new science

Dalí was a versatile artist Some of his more popular works are sculptures and other objects, and he is also noted for his contributions to theatre, fashion, and photography, among other areas

Sculptures and other objects:

Two of the most popular objects of the surrealist movement were Lobster Telephone and Mae West Lips Sofa, completed by Dalí in 1936 and 1937, respectively Surrealist artist and patron Edward James commissioned both of these pieces from Dalí; James inherited a large English estate in West Dean, West Sussex when he was five and was one of the foremost supporters of the surrealists in the 1930s “Lobsters and telephones had strong sexual connotations for [Dalí]”, according to the display caption for the Lobster Telephone at the Tate Gallery, “and he drew a close analogy between food and sex” The telephone was functional, and James purchased four of them from Dalí to replace the phones in his retreat home One now appears at the Tate Gallery; the second can be found at the German Telephone Museum in Frankfurt; the third belongs to the Edward James Foundation; and the fourth is at the National Gallery of Australia

The wood and satin Mae West Lips Sofa was shaped after the lips of actress Mae West, whom Dalí apparently found fascinating West was previously the subject of Dalí’s 1935 painting The Face of Mae West The Mae West Lips Sofa currently resides at the Brighton and Hove Museum in England

Between 1941 and 1970, Dalí created an ensemble of 39 pieces of jewelry; many pieces are intricate, and some contain moving parts The most famous assemblage, The Royal Heart, is made of gold and is encrusted with 46 rubies, 42 diamonds, and four emeralds, created in such a way that the center “beats” much like a real heart Dalí himself commented that “Without an audience, without the presence of spectators, these jewels would not fulfill the function for which they came into being The viewer, then, is the ultimate artist” The “Dalí – Joies” (“The Jewels of Dalí”) collection can be seen at the Dalí Theater Museum in Figueres, Catalonia, Spain, where it is on permanent exhibition

Dalí took a stab at industrial design in the 1970s with a 500-piece run of the upscale Suomi tableware by Timo Sarpaneva that Dalí decorated for the German Rosenthal porcelain maker’s “Studio Linie”

Theatre and film:

In theatre, Dalí constructed the scenery for Federico García Lorca’s 1927 romantic play Mariana Pineda For Bacchanale (1939), a ballet based on and set to the music of Richard Wagner’s 1845 opera Tannhäuser, Dalí provided both the set design and the libretto Bacchanale was followed by set designs for Labyrinth in 1941 and The Three-Cornered Hat in 1949

Dalí became intensely interested in film when he was young, going to the theatre most Sundays He was part of the era where silent films were being viewed and drawing on the medium of film became popular He believed there were two dimensions to the theories of film and cinema: “things themselves”, the facts that are presented in the world of the camera; and “photographic imagination”, the way the camera shows the picture and how creative or imaginative it looks Dalí was active in front of and behind the scenes in the film world

He is credited as co-creator of Luis Buñuel’s surrealist film Un Chien Andalou, a 17-minute French art film co-written with Luis Buñuel that is widely remembered for its graphic opening scene simulating the slashing of a human eyeball with a razor This film is what Dalí is known for in the independent film world Un Chien Andalou was Dalí’s way of creating his dreamlike qualities in the real world Images would change and scenes would switch, leading the viewer in a completely different direction from the one they were previously viewing The second film he produced with Buñuel was entitled L’Age d’Or, and it was performed at Studio 28 in Paris in 1930 L’Age d’Or was “banned for years after fascist and anti-Semitic groups staged a stink bomb and ink-throwing riot in the Paris theater where it was shown”

Although negative aspects of society were being thrown into the life of Dalí which affected the commercial success of his artwork, it did not hold him back from expressing his own ideas and beliefs in his art Both of these films, Un Chien Andalou and L’Age d’Or, have had a tremendous impact on the independent surrealist film movement “If Un Chien Andalou stands as the supreme record of Surrealism’s adventures into the realm of the unconscious, then L’Âge d’Or is perhaps the most trenchant and implacable expression of its revolutionary intent”

Dalí worked with other famous filmmakers, such as Alfred Hitchcock The most well-known of his film projects is probably the dream sequence in Hitchcock’s Spellbound, which heavily delves into themes of psychoanalysis Hitchcock needed a dreamlike quality to his film, which dealt with the idea that a repressed experience can directly trigger a neurosis, and he knew that Dalí’s work would help create the atmosphere he wanted in his film He also worked on a documentary called Chaos and Creation, which has a lot of artistic references thrown into it to help one see what Dalí’s vision of art really is

Dalí also worked with Walt Disney on the short film production Destino Completed in 2003 by Baker Bloodworth and Walt’s nephew Roy E Disney, it contains dreamlike images of strange figures flying and walking about It is based on Mexican songwriter Armando Dominguez’ song “Destino” When Disney hired Dalí to help produce the film in 1946, they were not prepared for the quantity of work that lay ahead For eight months, they worked on it continuously, until their efforts had to stop when they realized they were in financial trouble However, it was eventually finished 48 years later, and shown in various film festivals The film consists of Dalí’s artwork interacting with Disney’s character animation

Dalí completed only one other film in his lifetime, Impressions of Upper Mongolia (1975), in which he narrated a story about an expedition in search of giant hallucinogenic mushrooms The imagery was based on microscopic uric acid stains on the brass band of a ballpoint pen on which Dalí had been urinating for several weeks

In the mid-1970s, film director Alejandro Jodorowsky cast Dali in the role of the Padishah Emperor in a production of Dune, based on the novel by Frank Herbert According to the 2013 documentary on the film, Jodorowsky’s Dune, Jodorowsky met Dali in the King Cole Bar in the St Regis hotel in Manhattan to discuss the role Dali expressed interest in the film but required as a condition of appearing that he be made the highest paid actor in Hollywood Jodorowsky accordingly cast Dali as the emperor, but he planned to cut Dali’s screen time to mere minutes, promising he be the highest-paid actor on a per minute basis The film was ultimately never made

In the year 1927, Dali began to write the libretto for an opera, which he called Être Dieu (To Be God) He wrote this together with Federico Garcia Lorca one afternoon in the Café Regina Victoria in Madrid In 1974, for a recording in Paris, the opera was adapted by the Spanish writer Manuel Vazquez Montalban, who wrote the libretto, while the music was created by Igor Wakhevitch During the recording, however, Dali refused to follow the text written by Montalban, and instead, began to improvise in the belief that “Salvador Dali never repeats himself”

Fashion and photography:

Dalí built a repertoire in the fashion and photography businesses as well His cooperation with Italian fashion designer Elsa Schiaparelli was well-known, when Dalí was commissioned to produce a white dress with a lobster print Other designs Dalí made for her include a shoe-shaped hat, and a pink belt with lips for a buckle He was also involved in creating textile designs and perfume bottles In 1950, Dalí created a special “costume for the year 2045” with Christian Dior

Photographers with whom he collaborated include Man Ray, Brassaï, Cecil Beaton, and Philippe Halsman With Man Ray and Brassaï, Dalí photographed nature; with the others, he explored a range of obscure topics, including (with Halsman) the Dalí Atomica series (1948) — inspired by his painting Leda Atomica — which in one photograph depicts “a painter’s easel, three cats, a bucket of water, and Dalí himself floating in the air”

One of Dalí’s most unorthodox artistic creations may have been an entire persona, in addition to his own At a French nightclub in 1965, Dalí met Amanda Lear, a fashion model then known as Peki D’Oslo Lear became his protégée and muse, later writing about their affair in her authorized biography My Life With Dalí (1986) Transfixed by the mannish, larger-than-life Lear, Dalí masterminded her successful transition from modeling to the music world, advising her on self-presentation and helping spin mysterious stories about her origin as she took the disco-art scene by storm According to Lear, she and Dalí were united in a “spiritual marriage” on a deserted mountaintop She was referred to as Dalí’s “Frankenstein,” and some observers believed Lear’s assumed name was a pun on the French phrase “L’Amant Dalí”, or “Lover of Dalí” Lear took the place of an earlier muse, Ultra Violet (Isabelle Collin Dufresne), who had left Dalí’s side to join The Factory of Andy Warhol

Both former apprentices would go on to successfully promote their own careers in the arts On April 10, 2005, they joined a panel discussion “Reminiscences of Dalí: A Conversation with Friends of the Artist” as part of a symposium “The Dalí Renaissance” for a major retrospective Dalí show at the Philadelphia Museum of Art Their conversation is recorded in the 236-page exhibition catalog The Dalí Renaissance: New Perspectives on His Life and Art after 1940

Architecture:

Architectural achievements include his Port Lligat house near Cadaqués, as well as his Theatre and Museum in Figueres A major work outside of Spain was the temporary Dream of Venus surrealist pavilion at the 1939 New York World’s Fair, which contained within it a number of unusual sculptures and statues, including live performers posing as statues

Literary works:

Under the encouragement of poet Federico García Lorca, Dalí attempted an approach to a literary career through the means of the “pure novel” In his only novel Hidden Faces (1944), Dalí describes, in vividly visual terms, the intrigues and love affairs of a group of dazzling, eccentric aristocrats who, with their luxurious and extravagant lifestyle, symbolize the decadence of the 1930s The Comte de Grandsailles and Solange de Cléda pursue an awkward love affair, but property transactions, interwar political turmoil, the French Resistance, his marriage to another woman and her responsibilities as a landowner and businesswoman drive them apart It is variously set in Paris, rural France, Casablanca in North Africa and Palm Springs in the United States Secondary characters include ageing widow Barbara Rogers, her bisexual daughter Veronica, Veronica’s sometime female lover Betka, and Baba, a disfigured US fighter pilot The novel concludes at the end of the Second World War, with Solange dying before Grandsailles can return to his former property and reunite with her The novel was written in New York and translated by Hakon Chevalier

His other, nonfictional literary works include The Secret Life of Salvador Dalí (1942), Diary of a Genius (1952–63), and Oui: The Paranoid-Critical Revolution (1927–33)

Graphic arts:

The artist worked extensively in the graphic arts, producing many etchings and lithographs While his early work in printmaking is equal in quality to his important paintings, as he grew older he would sell the rights to images but not be involved in the print production itself In addition, a large number of fakes were produced in the 1980s and 1990s, thus further confusing the Dalí print market

Publicity:

After his arrival in the United States, Dalí engaged in heavy self-promotion Later, Dali Museum executive director Hank Hine appreciated his “ingenious self-promotion” during the 2016 VR exhibition Disney and Dalí: Architects of the Imagination While many of his stunts were seen as antics by art critics at the time, they were later interpreted as performances

His status as an extravagant artist was put to use in several publicity campaigns for Lanvin chocolates, “If you got it, flaunt it!” for Braniff International Airlines (1968), and Iberia Airlines

Legacy:

In Carlos Lozano’s biography, Sex, Surrealism, Dalí, and Me, produced with the collaboration of Clifford Thurlow, Lozano makes it clear that Dalí never stopped being a surrealist As Dalí said of himself: “the only difference between me and the surrealists is that I am a surrealist”

Salvador Dalí has been cited as a major inspiration by many modern artists, such as Damien Hirst, Jeff Koons, and most other modern surrealists Salvador Dalí’s manic expression and famous moustache have made him something of a cultural icon for the bizarre and surreal He has been portrayed on film by Robert Pattinson in Little Ashes (2008), and by Adrien Brody in Midnight in Paris (2011) He was also parodied in a series of painting skits on Captain Kangaroo as “Salvador Silly” (played by Cosmo Allegretti) and in a Sesame Street muppet skit as “Salvador Dada” (an orange gold Anything Muppet performed by Jim Henson)

The Dali crater on the planet Mercury is named for him