纳兰达玄奘纪念馆,印度巴格瑙

Originally posted 2017-03-03 21:40:07.

玄奘(602-664)是中国僧人,学者,旅行者和翻译家,他描述了唐代早期中国佛教与印度佛教的相互作用。他以十七年的陆路旅程到印度而闻名遐迩,在西方经典的中国文字大唐记录中详细记录。

纳瓦·纳兰达·马哈维拉一直是一个古老的学习场所,是一个传授知识的宗教中心。它存在于公元前五世纪至公元十二世纪的古代马加哈(现在的比哈尔邦和孟加拉国的部分地区,印度的奥里萨)。据认为,“纳兰达”一词可能来自“纳兰”(莲花)或者达纳兰达,这意味着“知识的提供者”。在古印度梵文经Mahavihara,在古代塔王朝统治时期成立,名叫Śakrāditya。

建立纳瓦·纳兰达·马哈维拉(印度大学文化部的德米恩大学)成立,是按照古老的纳兰达·马哈维拉(Nalanda Mahavihara)的方式,开发出一个位于帕利和佛教的高等研究中心。从一开始,该研究所作为一个住宅机构,数量有限的印度和外国学生。 Nālandā和古代NālandāMahāvihāra的废墟几乎是同义词。名字Nālandā提出了一个古老的Mahāvihrara的照片,这是在公元5至12世纪之间近700年的佛教教育的大座位。印度共和国第一任总统拉贾德拉·普拉萨德博士阁下发起了这一想法,并宣布,在Nālandā的古代佛教学习座位将会复兴,从而产生了建立Nava Nalanda Mahavihara的愿景。 1951年11月20日,第一座建筑的基石铺上了以下雕刻:“让纳兰达太阳的光芒从这块岩石的山顶上升起,以便在通过之后照亮白话(洛卡布)远离黑夜(黑暗的时期)。“

南达达在公元前五和六世纪期间都被佛祖和马哈维拉访问。它也是萨利普塔的诞生地和涅磐,是佛陀着名的门徒之一。许多着名的佛教学者在包括Nagarjuna在内的纳兰达学习和教学,正式化了Sunyata的概念;玄the老师, Dharmakirti,逻辑学家; Dinnaga,佛教逻辑的创始人;在西藏创立了第一批修道院的金马利特圣塔拉西塔,禅宗佛教大师Padmasambhava; Candrakīrti,Śīlabhadra和Atisa。

玄奘在公元前630年和公元643年之间旅行过印度,并在637年首次访问纳兰达,然后在642年再次访问了纳兰达,在修道院共花了大约两年时间。他在纳兰达受到热烈的欢迎,在那里他获得了印度的莫斯加德瓦(Mokshadeva)的名字,并在当时该机构着名负责人希拉布达拉的指导下学习。他相信,他在印度的艰苦的陆路旅程的目的已经实现了,因为他在最后发现了一个无可比拟的老师,指导他在Yogachara一个想法,然后只有部分被传递到中国的希拉巴达拉。除了佛教研究之外,和尚还参加了语法,逻辑和梵文课程,后来还在Mahavihara讲课。

在他在纳兰达逗留的详细描述中,朝圣者描述了他的宿舍窗外的景色,

此外,整个建筑物都被一堵砖墙所包围,整个修道院都没有包围。一个门通向伟大的大学,从其中分开八个其他的大厅(Sangharama的中间)。富有装饰的塔楼和童话般的塔楼,如尖顶山顶聚集在一起。天气似乎在早晨的蒸气中迷失了,上层的房间在云层之上。

玄奘是哈萨的当代和受尊敬的客人,详细列出了皇帝的壮丽。据宣萱的传记作者Hwui-Li称,纳兰达被萨特拉斯蔑视强调大乘教义。据报他们在访问奥沙达期间,殴打纳兰达国王,嘲笑哈桑王朝,嘲笑在那里教导的“天空花”(需要澄清),并表示他可以光顾卡帕利卡神庙。发生这种情况时,哈沙通知纳兰达的大臣,他派遣僧侣萨加拉马蒂,Prajnyarashmi,Simharashmi和宣ang反驳敖德萨僧侣的意见。

玄奘回归中国,共有佛教文本657人(其中许多是Mahayanist),共有二百五十只二百五十只遗物,二百五十件,翻译了七十四件。在成立三十多年后,中国和韩国的不少旅客已经访问了着名的纳兰达。

纳兰达是世界上第一所住宅大学之一。超过10,000名学生和2,000名教师住在这个修道院校区。建造在红砖的Mahavihara被认为是一个建筑杰作。它有八个独立的化合物和十个寺庙,以及许多其他冥想大厅和教室。图书馆位于一个九层楼,其中制作了有价值的文本。着名老师教授的课程积累了各个学习领域,吸引了来自韩国,日本,中国,西藏,印度尼西亚,波斯,土耳其等地的学生和学者。纳兰达在公元1193年在伊斯坦丁·马丁·穆罕默德·本·巴赫蒂耶尔·基尔吉(Ikhtiyar ad-Din Muhammad bin Bakhtiyar Khilji)之间被穆斯林王朝的军队洗劫毁坏。

目前,古老的Nalanda Mahavihara的废墟占地14公顷,其中大部分仍未开发。纳兰达,拉吉吉尔和博加加的历史意义每年吸引来自印度和国外的数千名游客。

Xuanzang Memorial, Nava Nalanda Mahavihara, Bargaon, India

Xuanzang (Chinese: 玄奘 602–664 ), was a Chinese Buddhist monk, scholar, traveller, and translator who described the interaction between Chinese Buddhism and Indian Buddhism in the early Tang dynasty. He became famous for his seventeen-year overland journey to India, which is recorded in detail in the classic Chinese text Great Tang Records on the Western Regions.

Nalanda had been an ancient seat of learning and a religious centre that imparted manifold knowledge. It existed in ancient Magadha (presently, Bihar and parts of Bengal, Orisha in India) between the fifth century AD to twelve century AD. It was believed that the term ‘Nalanda’ might have been originated from the word nalam (lotus), or da nalanda, signifying “giver of knowledge”. The ancient Mahavihara at Nalanda was established during the reign of a king called Śakrāditya, of the Gupta Dynasty.

The establishment of Nava Nalanda Mahavihara (Deemed University, Under Ministry of Culture, Government of India) was to develop a centre of Higher Studies in Pali and Buddhism along the lines of ancient Nalanda Mahavihara. From the beginning, the institute functioned as a residential institution, with a limited number of Indian and foreign students. Nālandā and the ruins of the ancient Nālandā Mahāvihāra are almost synonymous. The name Nālandā conjures up a picture of ancient Mahāvihāra, which was a great seat of Buddhist education for nearly 700 years between the 5th to 12th centuries CE. His Excellency, Dr. Rajendra Prasad, the first President of the Republic of India had initiated the idea and declared that the ancient seat of Buddhist learning at Nālandā would be revived and thus had emanated the vision of establishing the Nava Nalanda Mahavihara. On November 20, 1951, the foundation stone of the first building was laid with the following engraving : “Let the rays of the sun of Nalanda rise from the summit of this rock in order to brighten the vernacular (lokabhāsā in Pali) after the passing away of its nights of darkness (period of its obscurity).”

Nalanda was visited by both Buddha and Mahavira around the fifth and sixth centuries BC. It was also the place of birth and nirvana of Sariputta, one of the famous disciples of Buddha. Many of the famous Buddhist scholars had studied and taught at Nalanda including Nagarjuna, who formalised the concept of Sunyata; Dharmapala, the teacher of Xuan Zang; Dharmakirti, the logician; Dinnaga, the founder of Buddhist Logic; Jinamitra Santaraksita, who founded the first monastic order in Tibet; Padmasambhava, the master of Tantric Buddhism; Candrakīrti, Śīlabhadra and Atisa.

Xuanzang travelled around India between the years of 630 and 643 CE, and visited Nalanda first in 637 and then again in 642, spending a total of around two years at the monastery. He was warmly welcomed in Nalanda where he received the Indian name of Mokshadeva and studied under the guidance of Shilabhadra, the venerable head of the institution at the time. He believed that the aim of his arduous overland journey to India had been achieved as in Shilabhadra he had at last found an incomparable teacher to instruct him in Yogachara, a school of thought that had then only partially been transmitted to China. Besides Buddhist studies, the monk also attended courses in grammar, logic, and Sanskrit, and later also lectured at the Mahavihara.

In the detailed account of his stay at Nalanda, the pilgrim describes the view out of the window of his quarters thus,

Moreover, the whole establishment is surrounded by a brick wall, which encloses the entire convent from without. One gate opens into the great college, from which are separated eight other halls standing in the middle (of the Sangharama). The richly adorned towers, and the fairy-like turrets, like pointed hill-tops are congregated together. The observatories seem to be lost in the vapours (of the morning), and the upper rooms tower above the clouds.

Xuanzang was a contemporary and an esteemed guest of Harsha and catalogued the emperor’s munificence in some detail. According to Xuanzang’s biographer, Hwui-Li, Nalanda was held in contempt by some Sthaviras for its emphasis on Mahayana philosophy. They reportedly chided King Harsha for patronising Nalanda during one of his visits to Odisha, mocking the “sky-flower”[clarification needed] philosophy taught there and suggesting that he might as well patronise a Kapalika temple. When this occurred, Harsha notified the chancellor of Nalanda, who sent the monks Sagaramati, Prajnyarashmi, Simharashmi, and Xuanzang to refute the views of the monks from Odisha.

Xuanzang returned to China with 657 Buddhist texts (many of them Mahayanist) and 150 relics carried by 20 horses in 520 cases, and translated 74 of the texts himself. In the thirty years following his return, no fewer than eleven travellers from China and Korea are known to have visited famed Nalanda.

Nalanda was one of the world’s first residential universities. More than 10,000 students and 2,000 teachers resided in this monastic campus. The Mahavihara, built in red bricks, was considered to be an architectural masterpiece. It had eight separate compounds and ten temples, along with many other meditation halls and classrooms. The library was located in a nine storied building where valued copies of texts were produced. The subjects taught by the renowned teachers amassed every field of learning, and attracted pupils and scholars from all parts of the world-Korea, Japan, China, Tibet, Indonesia, Persia and Turkey. Nalanda was ransacked and destroyed by an army of the Muslim Mamluk Dynasty under Ikhtiyar ad-Din Muhammad bin Bakhtiyar Khilji in 1193 AD.

Presently, the ruins of the ancient Nalanda Mahavihara occupy an area of 14 hectares and most of it remains unexplored. The historical significance of Nalanda, Rajgir and Bodhgaya attract thousands of tourists every year from both India and abroad.

Tags: